Skip to content

Introducing “DAFT” and the Amazing Avocado

July 1, 2009
tags:

Okay, so I know this might be kind of long, but stick with me, it all comes together in the end!

There have been numerous diet trends over the years: Atkins, aka low carb, the zone, reduced calorie, and out of them all sprouted a plethora of grocery items to meet the needs of consumers, that a few months later after the craze passed we found on the discount shelves (also partly because many tasted like cardboard). Among the most infamous, that has continued to stick around, is “fat free.”

FAT is such a powerful word in our culture and has so many negative associations and connotations to it, it’s frightening. Yes, there is an obesity epidemic in America, but at the same time, there are many other permaters to the word. At the other extreme, the vast amount of negative self-esteem it causes both men and women, due to the associations, is tremendous and leads to disordered eating.

On a completely different spectrum, despite what media has led people to believe, our bodies NEED FAT (in moderation of course)!

The importance of fat in our diets:

  • most concentrated form of energy
  • lowers risk of heart disease
  • we need essential fatty acids such as omega 3 and 6
  • cushions organs
  • needed to absorb water soluble vitams A, S, E, and K
  • helps with satiation and prevents cravings
  • needed for cell membranes, nerve fibers, and feeds your brain!
  • helps produce endorphins
  • gives you beautiful skin and hair
  • makes food nummy!

DAFT: A silly, sarcastic, yet educational phenomenon

This is where DAFT comes in.  The Webster’s dictionary defines “daft” as:

1 a : silly, foolish b : mad, insane

The next time your friend says she can’t eat something because it has too much fat in it, or they need to go fat free, blah blah blah, tell them they are DAFT. DAFT is “fat” mixed up with a “d” sneakily put in front of it standing for “dumb.” However, you’re not outright calling your friend dumb and you now have a leeway into explaining to them the importance of fat in their diet and how beautiful their skin and hair can become, not to mention the fact that they are beautiful nonetheless!

Example conversation:

Girl 1: I wish I could eat all that guacomole, but avocados have so much fat in them.

My usual reaction because I get so fed up and wake up too early: Will you shut up? That’s retarded and dumb.

My reaction now that I am happily munching delicous satiating wonderful guac!: Girl, you’re DAFT.

Girl 1? DAFT?

Me: Yeah, it’s my new word for people that don’t realize how good healthy fats are for them. Avocados are wonderful for you, and plus, you need to learn to just accept one thing about yourself each day. Love you, don’t let society define you!!

THE AMAZING AVOCADO

It is important to try to eat healthy monosaturated and polyunsaturated fats vs. trans fats. Good sources of healthy fats include: olive and other plant oils, fish, nuts, and the AMAZING AVOCADO!!

I grew up eating avocados and guacomole so have always loved them and pity the person that has not developed a taste for this amazing fruit. Since trying to eat more raw, I have been happily incorporating even more of these into my diet. Now, I have always known these to be a bit higher on the fat side, but going raw, and now after studying the abundance of other benefits the avocado has to offer, some days I find myself downing about 2-3 of these bad boys!

The avocado is one of those healthy fats that I would be DAFT not to happily enjoy without any guilt whatsoever.  It has more potassium than a medium banana, is high in oleic acid that is shown to prevent breast cancer, and also helps you absorb the nutrients of your other veggies!! So add it to your salads! This little gem also has a ton of Vitamin B, K, and fiber!

Here is a little nutritional profile from http://www.whfoods.com:

GUACOPULPE

Avocados are very versatile so be creative when it comes to recipes, they add flavor, texture, creaminess, num! I made a fresh batch of juice today and wanted to try out Gena’s idea of adding my pulp to my guac since I don’t have a dehydrator and I hate throwing it away :( (Dear Excalibur…) This actually came out wonderful! I grabbed a handful of my beet, carrot, apple and celery pulp, mixed it with some garlic, 2 avocados, lemon juice, s+p, and then decided to add a fresh mango for some zing, and I ended up with a meaty, delicious, very healthy, guacomole!!!! I could happily have a hearty portion, guilt free, knowing every ounce of it was doing wonderful things for my body! Nothing DAFT about it!

ETA: So it seems like Fat talk is all around today and Jenna of ELR wrote about it too!! I swear I had written this already, but give her’s a check out as well!


It is confidence in our bodies, minds and spirits that allows us to keep looking for new adventures, new directions to grow in, and new lessons to learn – which is what life is all about.

-Oprah Winfrey

Thank you for your wonderful, and intricate creation Lord!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 6:47 pm

    I eat 1 whole avocado (or more, haha) daily – LOVE THEM!

  2. July 4, 2009 12:55 pm

    You know I love my avocados!

    My husband has wondered if fats get such a bad wrap based on their name. What if they were referred to as “lipids” instead of “fat”? I just can’t imagine people would be saying I wish I could eat all that guacomole, but avocados have so many lipids in them., ya know?

    Just some food for thought. Your pulp-filled guac. looks delicious. I long for an Excalibur as well. :)

    • cottchz permalink*
      July 4, 2009 4:00 pm

      Heather
      This is an excellent idea! Actually I have seen some nutrition labels where it does say “lipids” but it’s more on the Ensure type drinks. For some reason my brain is trying to recall a label I saw abroad as well because we all know the rest of the world is ahead of the US :p Now…have you heard about the “fat tax” England was trying to instill??

Trackbacks

  1. Guacanara – Choosing Raw

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

