Skip to content

Mantra Makeover: Honoring Yourself From Head to Toe

July 5, 2009

I have always been an advocate for women’s rights and did a minor in women’s studies in college. My heart constantly aches at women who deprive themselves of who they truly are and can be because they let themselves be held back by society. That is why I am going to start the Mantra Makeover series.  We will literally go from head to toe, through each part of our bodies, learn about it, appreciate it, even if it’s a new fun fact, and find a little self lovin’! We are beautiful women, both inside and out, and it is my hope, that throughout this series, you will discover that within yourselves.

ok, so we're not talking the movie here....

MM #1: Luscious Locks-Hair

Our hair is an amazing thing. We use it to say something about ourselves, we dye it, we grow it out, cut it short, curl it, complain about it, for some it is their glamor, for some it’s a pain in the butt. Nevertheless, it is a part of us! Some cultures throughout history have proudly adorned their hair, while others have had to hide it under cloths.  Maybe you’re at a time in your life when you don’t have any hair. In Mayan culture, the nobility actually had shaved heads and wore beautiful headresses, there is no reason to be ashamed! (I actually did not have hair for a period of my life and loved the clean and crisp feeling of the cold water every morning when I swam, plus I think it made me faster :p)In ancient Greece women dusted themselves with Gold, and adorned themselves with fresh flowers and tiaras.We all have a powerful Goddess within!


I love to run my fingers through my hair, I love to have someone brush it, and I love having my mom braid it for me. Oh, how I love finding a good hairdresser and the wonderful scalp massages!! Hair can be fun, remember all those terrible hairstyles from the 80’s that give us good laughs? Side pony tail and the crimper anyone?

What does your hair do for you? How are you going to appreciate it today? It can be big, small, funny, or something just for you!

MM#1 Exercise: Gently warm a few tablespoons of cream or olive oil and massage it into your hair. Wrap a towell around your head, put up your feet, light a candle, and put on some soothing music. Relax for an hour and let your strands soak up the proteins from the cream or the nutrients of the oil. Rinse. Live, laugh, love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 12:46 pm

    this is fun! be sure to send me the other posts!

  2. July 5, 2009 12:50 pm

    I loved this post. Ha ha – I totally used to crimp my hair. What were we thinking?!?

    I’m grateful for my thick head of long hair – one of my most favorite features about myself. Thanks for the reminder…I needed this as today my hair looks like a big ball of frizz. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

