Skip to content

Fish Friday: Pouch Perfect! Salmon Papillote

August 22, 2009

I have been looking for more options to gain cooking experience and see if I really want to pursue cooking school and have found some good opportunities to apply for. I have an interview where I have to bring a dish for the family to taste, I wanted to keep it simple, fresh, and healthy, so Salmon Papillote, also known as fish cooked in parchment pouches, since I would be able to hit up the Farmer’s Market for some nice fresh produce in the morning and even tailor them to each individual family member’s taste. Plus, since I’m from the northwest, I thought it would be a good representation of one of my favorite dishes!

It is pretty straight forward and simple to do, you can  basically stick whatever you want in the pouch. This was the test run and I only snapped a few picts-but basically you take a piece of parchment, fold it in half, then cut it into a heart shape.

Julienne veggies of choice, I chose asparagus, a few peppers, fennel, leeks, and then some fresh herbs and spices such as sea salt, garlic, lemon, pepper, coriander, and dill.

PICT0491 Place your veggies on one side of the heart, generously add your herbs. Then place your piece of salmon on top. I was able to get  a nice piece of Coho on sale, num! I added more seasonings to the top of the salmon and a dash of dry white wine. Two slices of Meyer Lemon (get a few of these while they are in season for a limited time!)

PICT0492

Then, fold over the other half of the heart, and seal the edges by making a crease, folding half way, making another crease, tightly all the way around the heart. When you get to the pointy bottom, just tuck it underneath.

If you’re hangry, you can put this in the micro for about five minutes, but I really suggest the over at 450 for about 15-20.

PICT0493

Meanwhile, I’m finagling this rice recipe. Last night I did a basmati with toasted almonds, but it was too boring.

PICT0495 This came out pretty good, but I’m going to make a few changes, so wish me luck! I’m also making a dessert but need to get the ingredients at today’s market. I hope it all comes out okay. AHHHHH! It would be so great cooking for a family again, I really enjoyed cooking for my parents when I was with them.

Anyone have any super amazing rice recipes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 8:11 am

    Yum! Thanks so much for sharing. Can’t wait to make this.

    Basmati with toasted almonds? Doesn’t sound so boring to me. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

