Skip to content

Salsa,Tango, and Mango!

August 12, 2008
tags:

I was very grumpy after our errands and in a bit of a funk. Nevertheless, I busted out my single speed complete with sparkly red handles, but unfortunately, a very painful bike seat :p I toodled out for a bit on the prairie roads and despite the drop in weather wandered down to the lake which was quite empty. I forced myself to just jump in because I knew the water would do me good and it did. It was FREEZING, but my body just loves the water, it refreshes me so much and clears my mind. I did not stay in long at all and quickly biked home to change plus I had dinner to prepare!

I really had no idea what I was going to do going into this but it all came out great! I had marinated the chicken in some random herbs and lime juice all day which we grilled. I also had Dale toss the corn on the cob on the bbq as well for the salad. I had mate a watermelon fire and ice salsa the night before to top the chicken so the flavors would meld and it was great! Dessert was the best though. I toasted whole wheat pitas with a mixture of cinnamon and splenda and then made a fruit salsa with strawberries, apple, mango, and a bit of honeydew mixed with a little splenda and sugar free jam to go with it and it was DIVINE!!! num num for my tum tum!! The side salad I jus tossed randomly together for our other grain: mine was black beans with red and yellow peppers and a light dressing I made out of some freshly squeezed oj, cumin, garlic, and apple cider vinegar, the only difference with my parents was that they had the grilled corn because Dale can’t have peppers. They loved it and I did too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    August 12, 2008 3:14 pm

    how does one go about making fwtermelon fire and ice salsa- please do reveal your secrets. or die. 😉

Leave a Reply

