Skip to content

Another “flash review”

August 29, 2008

okay, i really will get this daily blog thing down! life has just been so crazy, as have I. Recovery is a process and as always things happen that sort of turn things upside down which occurred this past week. I don’t really want to go into details but God is good and things are turning out as well as one could have hoped. Now it’s dealing with family and moving on from there. Meanwhile, still staying on track foodwise and trying new things. We had to take an impromptu trip back to Seattle and that was a challenge but also enabled me to get some goodies from Trader Joes, I so miss my TJ’s!!!

Dinner on the road, night time weeding…beet greens from the farmers market, taco salad, with some roasted TJ chicken, my new favorite Honey greek yogurt and some fresh fruit!!

OMG! I finally made an omelet! I started by making my parents breakfast, got so excited I successfully made them one, I changed up my routine and made myself one! It was very tasty and wrapped up with some leftover zucchinni and other random veggies from the night before with my lovely berries of course!

BBQ time! Hawaiian marinated chicken skewers, wheatberry crunch salad from the Eat Clean Cookbook, a tomato basil salad and fresh fruit! My first shot at wheatberries, my mom and I both liked them but too healthy and grainy for my step dad 🙂

This was an adventurous meal…sauteed some Kale southern style but “light”, and did the remaining as Kale chips which I really liked. Then cooked up some brown rice and topped with this bean mix my mom had mixed with one chicken sausage link that was way too spicy for me sprinkled with half a light laughing cow cheese. My mom really liked it but overall it was too spicy for me. This was challenging for me because of the rice and bean combo, but minus the spiciness my tastebuds would have enjoyed it I think.

PIZZA!!! I had a massive craving for pizza and before I got myself into trouble just planned it in. I whipped up some homemade herbed dough that was very simple and rolled it out into portions so we could each do our own thing and then just turned them into calzones since we only had one chicken breast left and added some of the fat free ricotta in to complete the protein, with veggie mozz shreds for me and normal for the ‘rents. The best part, you cook these on the bbq and they are delicious!! We had some zucchinni on the side and as usual fruit, but this recipe is a keeper and very easy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2008 3:20 pm

    Hi, just found the blog and it looks great so far!

    All your food looks yummy!

  2. August 29, 2008 4:45 pm

    Wow your food looks great… so fresh and healthy… and I love how you say you just whipped up some pizza dough.. maybe you can share how you just “whip” that up!

  3. tsbrown permalink
    August 29, 2008 5:15 pm

    Very nice blog!!

Leave a Reply

