Skip to content

Disappearing Act..Take 2 :)

September 22, 2008

Sorry…life got the best of me again as I am now working two jobs and trying to figure out how to get the heck out of podunk town! Volunteering at a potato booth, one too many classic car shows and I think now being able to write 101 things NOT TO do here in podunk town is the icing on the cake. However, a few good things have come my way!!

1) THANK YOU MR. JUSTIN NUT BUTTER!! I came home exhausted one day from work and found a nummy pack of his maple almond butter snack pack samples at my doorstep, what a treat, many pb and apple snacks to come! peanut butter used to be troublesome to me but it really is a great form of good fats in appropriate portions which is just what these are!

Meal wise I haven’t really done anything too exciting because I’ve been so tired. My docs think my iron is really low again, so I’m trying to get more in my diet and such, but I usually end up needing an infusion anyway…bah.

So this was some tasty shrimp, quinoa and okra gumbo, I found out I think I like okra and it has lots of good health benefits!

The mucilage and fiber found in okra helps adjust blood sugar by regulating its absorption in the small intestine.

• The fiber of okra has many superior qualities in maintaining the health of the gastro-intestinal tract.

• It helps reabsorb water and traps excess cholesterol, metabolic toxins and surplus bile in its mucilage and slips it out through the stool. Due to greater percentage of water in the bulk it thereby prevents constipation, gas and bloating in the abdomen.

• It is an ideal vegetable for weight loss and is storehouse of health benefits provided it is cooked over low flame to retain its properties. This also to ensure that the invaluable mucilage contained in it is not lost to high heat.

• Okra facilitates the propagation of good bacteria referred to as probiotics. These are similar to the ones proliferate by the yoghurt in the small intestine and helps biosynthesis of Vitamin B complex.

• For adding bounce your hair. Boil horizontally sliced okra till the brew become maximally slimy. Cool it and add a few droops of lemon and use this as the last rinse and see your hair spring back to youthfulness and jump.

• Okra is an excellent laxative treats irritable bowels, heals ulcers and sooths the gastrointestinal track.

• Protein and oil contained in the seeds of okra serves as the source of first-rate vegetable protein. It is enriched with amino acids on the likes of tryptophan, cystine and other sulfur amino acids.

Another night I had my iron fortified meal, hence the mumbo jumbo of stuff, but I wasn’t feeling that great anyway, it was Cream of Wheat (highest cereal w/iron), hard boiled eggs for protein, and some stir fried veggies with beets which have iron, i had already had spinach for lunch. Oh yes, and watermelon for some more iron and vit c to help absorb it all!!

Earlier in the week I had prepared some spinach, feta, turkey burgers that were pretty tasty with some homemade tzatiki!

My lunches are always mishmashed stuff but some of them were:

a quinoa salad, high in iron with some pumpkin seeds, almonds, garbanzo beans and other goodies…

and a tuna salad on fresh spinach another day…mmm fish….yes still having my strange pickle cravings :p

and i think below must have been a kitchen sink leftover meal :p but it was good, really it was!

I’ll try to get back on schedule this week, still working on that lovely aspect of balance. The weather completely changed today too, so we’ll see where that takes my tummy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 12:24 pm

    Glad to see you posting again – I was wondering what happened to you!

    Hooray for Justin’s Nut Butter, Gumbo (love all that information about okra – very interesting stuff!!), and Quinoa Salad!!! Yum 🙂

    Happy Monday!!

  2. Tra permalink
    April 23, 2009 2:45 pm

    do you think you could give a recipe? email? PLEASE?! it looks delish. i wonder if it would work with just chicken. i’m not a fan of shrimpies.

    • cottchz permalink*
      June 10, 2009 11:45 pm

      of course it would work with chicken!! i recently moved and all my recipes are still in abox in idaho so i can’t actually remember this one off hand though i usually cook by fire :p as soon as i get it back though i will get it to you!

Leave a Reply

