Skip to content

My night with a “fun-gi”

June 18, 2009

Groan, thank goodness tomorrow is Friday because today was a grumpy morning. Some people at work were actually victims of the swine flu, I hope I’m not getting it because I haven’t been feeling all that great lately. However, I have read that you can begin feeling a bit flu like when your body begins detoxing so maybe that’s what is happening. Thankfully I had another semi-short morning and I’m still waiting to hear news about advancement. So I came home, had some important other business things to do, then made a fresh batch of juice, love the creamy froth on top!

I ran some more little errands in the afternoon, such as finally getting my father’s day card in the mail. I’ve had the card done for a week but I don’t know why I hate going to the mailbox :p It’s been overcast but still warm so I walked to the drugstore to print my digital pictures, I’m making a photo collage for work! Then I came home and made dinner, which was scrumptious!

That is the grilled portobello mushroom sandwich with goat cheese, peppers and onions! And on the side:

Grilled zucchinni rolls with goat cheese and fresh basil!! These were amazing! I need to use fresh basil more often, it adds such fresh flavor to a dish! The plate in it’s entirety:

I used to hate mushrooms all my life, then a few summers ago when I worked at a cafe, my boss showed me how to properly cook them, and carmelize onions with them, how to mix chevre with tarragon and such, and I’ve loved them since! This sandwich was quite filling and I was actually only able to finish half, but that means leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

I had to write a letter today and it made me reflect a lot on the big changes I have made in just the past eight months and they have been huge. I have moved across the country, not knowing a soul around me, completely supporting myself, found a job, and am up for a promotion. This has been a soulful journey though, because each and every day I am still searching once again for the woman I once was and still am to become, so I leave you with the thought card I saw today:

“Everyone is unique and different. if we like other people, then we are not expressing our own specialness.” Be authentic and be true to yourself!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 11:24 am

    Thank you so much for your comment the other day! It was very encouraging. I really am trying to put God at the center of everything in my life. I don’t want to be one of those Christians that goes to church on Sunday and then leaves and doesn’t walk the Christian life. I know I need A LOT fo work but God is working on me. I will certainly look forward to shariong with you!

    Also, I hope you are not sick. I will be praying for you. Hopefully it’s just the detox.

Leave a Reply

