Skip to content

What, no pictures?

June 23, 2009

A Day of Radical Acceptance….

So my friend at work says I need to go through a karma cleansing and I’m beginning to think he is right as technology devastation hits again. I went to take a picture of my friend and I enjoying our free, delicious, coconut iced coffees at Dunkin’ Doughnuts this afternoon and my camera fizzled out. I thought at first it was dead batteries so I ran to the car to get some new ones. After putting them in we ended up gabbing for a bit too long outside, hello mr. sunburn, and before leaving I went to try taking a picture again. My camera opened, then sputtered off again but stayed with the lens out. “Maybe it got too hot from the heat?” My dear friend Anita, hopefully offered condolence as well as promising to save her cup for some re-enactment should I get my camera cooled off and working again. After the day I have had I seriously don’t think I can take any more bad news, nor afford anymore technological disasters 😦

In the past eight months or so, I have turned my life around tremendously. However, despite what changes I have made, little bits and pieces still come back and challenge me, some are just moments, and some are momentous. Today was more of those momentous type ones. Yet, I was patiently reminded that every experience we go through, no matter how hard we want to forget or deny it, is still part of us, part of our experience, something we have to accept, and most importantly, something we can learn and grow from. So today is about ACCEPTANCE.

The Language of Letting Go by Melody Beattie has been a very helpful book throughout my recovery. There are days when it just hits head on with an issue I am struggling with. I actually sought out an entry on acceptance today and once again was provided with much wisdom. We cannot repress our emotions, thoughts, or feelings, and often it just makes things harder.

“Acceptance turns us into the person we are and want to be. Acceptance empowers the events and cirumstances around us to turn around for the better….Acceptance does not mean we’re giving or aproval. It does not mean surrendering to the will an dplans of another It does not mean commitment. It is not forever….It means we accept what is….

We can use this wisdom in so many aspects. I can use the news I got today, accept it, and know that it’s not forever.  I can grow from it, and know that it does not have to change me as a person and I do not have to forgo my hopes and dreams because of it. I can accept that my camera is not working and feel the disappointment. We can accept ourselves, for who we are, what we look like, and appreciate that for that is where we are in the moment!

We can also have HOPE!!!!

For example…does anyone have an old, extra digital camera lying around they’d like to bless me with???? 🙂

And FAITH!!!

God loves you no matter what!!!

And FOOD!!!

Yeah, so because of lack of pictures, and because of the seriousness and mushiness I thought I’d throw in one more book review….

The Complete Book of Raw Food edited by Julie Rodwell is excellent! The first part is made up of a simple tutorial on seting up a raw kitchen from ingredients, kitchen tools, how to sprout, using a food dehydrator, and extra advices from pros that range on flavoring, soaking, ingredients, etc. The meat of the book is the recipes with sections in salads/dressings, soups, snacks/sids, smoothies, shakes, juices, breads, crackers, chips, raw milk/cheese, entrees, spreads/dips, desserts, and ice cream/puddings.

So far every recipe I’ve tried is delicious! They’re easy to follow complete with prep time, equipment needed, advance prep and servings. It also offered a good assortment of recipes that could cater to a variety of occasions. The one sad thing is it didn’t have a lot of pictures and I like to eat with my eyes. Also, being new to raw food, it would have been nice to see what some of these dishes were actually supposed to look like. All in all this is a great book to have on your shelf and full of a wealth of information! One other plus is that if you don’t have a food dehydrator you won’t feel left out because there are still plenty of other recipes you can enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robyn permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:13 pm

    Welcome to the raw food club. The benefits of a raw food diet are many including higher nutrient and antioxidant levels versus cooked food. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

