Skip to content

Take a Hike

June 25, 2009
tags:

After the past few weeks of pure work I had an odd mid-day off, and it was fun because one of my good friends had it off too, so we headed out for a hike! Now, I’m used to the Cascade Mountain Range from Seattle, but all of North Carolina’s mountains are quite  drive away so we settled for the Eno River just northwest of Durham. A lot of people mentioned that you can float down the Eno, so I have been wanting to check it out.

The hike was super easy, nothing what I was used to, all flat and right along the river, er, creek among rocks :p (I guess it’s low because of all the heat). We hiked for about an hour and a half completing two of the loops there. We also found Bobbit’s hole, which is supposedly a popular swim hole, but it looked a bit too murky for either of us to want to jump in. I’m used to crystal, clear, serene lakes of the mountains, and this was anything but crystal :p

After our major wildlife sitings of the usual squirrel, a turtle, and the major fear of the day, ewww big fat slimy snake!!!!! I did a little tree pose to compose myself:

I forgot how much I missed hiking. It’s so great to be outside, away from it all, and always allow for some good conversation. I would love to share picts of some of the great fuel we had as well, and was almost hoping to share the good news that the Fuji had risen from the dead but it puttered out again. I spoke to Fuji this morning and they suggested taking the batteries out for a few hours which I did. Upon coming home, I put new ones back in, success! The lens finally clsoed, but now it won’t read a battery charge. So I’m going to mess around with it a bit more and see what I can come up with because there was some delicious hummous and veggies and a grand dinner, amidst the usual juice and green monster!

This whole camera deal has been a good lesson in patience. It has made me feel my feelings, sad and frustration, but at the same time I’m glad I didn’t do my usual MO and react, but rather, accepted.  I could have gotten upset, ran out and got a new camera, (well, not really, I can’t afford it), but rather I’ve waited it out, figured out ways around it, ways to keep the blog going, and although my camera is on life support, just maybe it will pull through :p

Patient endurance is what you need now….

-Hebrews 10:36

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

