Skip to content

June 27, 2009

I actually got to sleep in today, unheard of…and I even went to Dunkin Doughnuts to get some coffee, which is sad, since I work in a coffee shop yet don’t really have any coffee in my own house :p I know I should sell the coffee shop I work at, and I do talk up coffees I really enjoy, but I have to admit, I’m a sucker for Dunkin’, whatever they do to those arabica beans and their multitude of sugar free flavors (num num coconut and almond) is a sweet treat, especially when accompanied by a free coupon!!

I’ve never really had anything there other than their iced coffee but I think it’s good they are trying to offer some smarter options: Egg white, turkey, and spinach omelet sandwich on multi grain flatbread at 280cals, 19g protein, and 6g fat?? Not bad, if you’re on the run or stuck in an airport. I’m usually pretty high maintenance when I travel, carrying around coolers of my own food, so little reminders like this that I can eat safely and normally without carrying a grocery store with me are good :p I don’t really eat out much either, so often times I find that I don’t even know what is out there anymore.

At work it was the usual, lots of coffee, the usual tasts, not to mention about 10 yucky grainy cold presses to drain, but that’s ok, I like to stay busy. I made the people their latte’s…

Caribou Crescent on top of the latte!

Caribou Crescent on top of the latte!

And I drank this:

Love my blue green monsters! (I guzzled my superseed juice when I first got there and forgot to take a pict).

I was excited to make some almond milk so I set what almonds I had left out soaking before I left. I also picked up some more as well as some filtered water and a cheesecloth on the way home. The almonds have soaked for over eight hours, but since I don’t have a super vitamix blender, I’m going to give them some extra soakage time overnight.

For dinner I decided to try challenge myself with a new omelet technique since I don’t have a small enough pan to do proper omelets and since I know many others out there struggle with omelets as well. Rather than taking my egg mixture and putting it in a pan, I baked it!

1) Chop up chosen veggies and stir fry them with chosen seasonings. I used what I had on hand, peppers, onions, tomatoes, garlic, dill, s/p!

2) Depending on how many you’re feeding mix up your balance of full eggs/egg whites. I always usually use a ratio of 1 egg:2egg whites per person for a good hearty omelet. Whisk the eggs in a bowl, add a dash of water, and some salt/pepper.

4) If you’re making it for more than one person, use at least a 9×13 baking dish sprayed, I used a square pan since I was a loner. However, if you’re lucky enough to have one of those 15x10x1 baking pans that would be the most ideal! For this it is suggested to use about 10 egg whites and 5 eggs and will make six servings.

5) Bake, uncovered at 400 until eggs are firm. If you used a bigger pan, cut into squares. If you used the small square pan, just trim the edges and plunk it on a plate :p

Put the veggie mixture inside, add cheese if desired, and fold over! VOILA! Delicious omelet, without having to fight with a pan!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

