Skip to content

Another “Staycation” for the tastebuds!

June 28, 2009
tags: ,

I moved from Seattle, where I have to be honest, they have amazing Thai food. Here in North Carolina, you are lucky to even find a Thai restaurant, and at the few I have tried, they are extremely overpriced, small portions, and well, sad to say, not very good. Everytime my friend, who has also just moved to the sticks of Indiana, reminisce about Seattle, we always end up talking about our favorite Thai restaurants and I feel the tickle of my tastebuds and my tummy grumble. C’est la vie.

Well tonight, not only were my tastebuds and stomach tickled, but it was RAW as well!!!! And, I made it myself, who knew?? I had been coveting this colorful raw cookbook at the bookstore for awhile now, what can I say, bright colors just nab me, which is also why I probably adored this entree. It’s called Raw: The Uncook Book and has amazing sounding recipes and beautiful pictures, which you already know I’m a sucker for as well. I read through their Green Papaya Thai Salad recipe and another Thai Coleslaw recipe I found, took a look at my fridge, and created this:

Faithful Thai Creation with Dressing

A Faithful Thai Creation:

  • Handful broccoli slaw (i just had this in my fridge and needed to us it up) otherwise use shredded carrots and add more zucchini, cabbage, etc.
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 avocado diced
  • handful basil finely chopped
  • fresh papaya chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper chopped
  • handful chives, chipped
  • bit of cabbage (you choose) finely shredded
  • zucchinni julienned
  • 1/2 diced cucumber
  • add other fresh herbs such as cilantro, mint, and lemongrass if you have them!

For the Dressing:

  • 2T lemon juice
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Braggs Liquid Amino or Nama Shoyu
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves peeled garlic, depending on how much you like garlic, i love it!
  • 1″ peeled piece of ginger
  • curry powder to taste, i used 3tsp because I’m a spice pansy but if you like it spicy: 1 1/2 T curry + 1tsp chile powder
  • a big glob of almond butter, what’s thai without nuts??

Add all of the above ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth! Makes a pretty good amount as you can see below, I ended up just drizzling a bit on my salad.

Here is the salad sans dressing, you can really use your imagination and do what you’d like, next time I’m definitely adding bean sprouts but I didn’t have any. Plus, I bet you could do amazing things with a spiralizer!! I’m not minding the leftover dressing either, it will be great on veggie wraps this week and just even dipping some veggies in!

For dessert I had the other half of my avocado to use up and I have some very ripe bananas on my counter that are attracting some very unattractive houseguests (aka fruit flys) that even my white vinegar aren’t holding at bay so I tried some of that raw chocolate pudding Ani Pho is known for and man am I glad I did!

Ani Pho’s Carob Pudding

  • 2 avocados
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup carob powder
  • (I had to use a bit of almond milk to get my blender going)

Put it all in the blender and enjoy!

This was divine! Needless to say my taste buds were quite happy tonight! This was one of those recipes I bet I could actually feed my step-dad and he would like it, but then ask me cautiously, “ok, what did I really just eat?”

I scraped the blender clean 🙂

Nom nom!!! And on that sweet note, GOOD NIGHT!!

Check out Curly Top’s blog makeover giveaway, I want one!

“Every day, every brief second is a precious gift”-Angie Murchison Tally

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

