Skip to content

Massaging the “Nutters”

June 28, 2009

With my almonds freshly soaked and tender, releasing all their wonderful, now easily digestable enzymes, I ventured upon the making of my own almond milk. Sorry to say, I didn’t go put on my overalls in honor of not having to go out to a barn with a bucket, it’s just too darn hot out. I had read a few recipes out of various raw cookbooks and headed Heather’s wonderful guidance, and combined all my knowledge to create this:

  • 3 cups filtered water
  • 1 cup soaked almonds
  • dash vanilla
  • 2 seeded figs or dates

I put the almonds and water in the blender first and gave it a good spin, I had to use a rubber spatula to help it out since I just have a regular old middle of the line blender. I let it go for a bit to get everything good and mixed up. Then, I took a cheesecloth and rubberbanded it over a pitcher and poured my mixture through to get the almond pulp out of it.

I then took this, and blended it again with the dates and vanilla. Then I repeated the cheesecloth process, mainly because I was a dork and didn’t rubberband it the first time so some of the pulp had fallen in. If you are more intelligent you may not need to repeat this process :p The result was super creamy, super delicious, very fresh almond milk where you could actually taste the almonds! The best part was the creamy froth on top, no frothing machine needed! Better yet, I knew exactly what went in there AND knew that the milk actually still had all the good vitamins, proteins, minerals, and fiber because I had used fresh nuts and at a good ratio! HOORAY for homemade almond milk! Plus, the entire process really only took about ten minutes.

Since I was still in the mixing and blending mood I decided to whip a big ol’ batch of my superseed blood juice as well! Here is what went in, these are some of the beets I got at the farmer’s market last week!

The refreshing result:

More frothy goodness, this time in juice form!!! What a way to start the day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

