Skip to content

Laughs at the Lonestar

June 29, 2009

It has been quite awhile since I have gone out so tonight was a treat! I had been looking forward to it for the past week or so since Barry mentioned it to us at work. He is amazing, not only is he one of the nicest people I have ever met, but he also works too jobs pulling long days at a vet office, then a bartender at night. Lucky for us though, because it’s at this steakhouse, Lonestar in North Carolina and I believe elsewhere as well.

I haven’t sat at a bar since my happy hour times at Seattle when I was always the DD. I forgot how fun it was, I love my diet cokes with lots of cherries! I love to watch people, and it was fun to watch Barry work and mix all the drinks that I have no clue about :p But, the best part of course was when the food came. Lonestar makes everything fresh, in house daily, and my mouth was watering the entire time. I literally had to roll myself home so I may just wake up with a food hangover tomorrow, but it was well worth it.

Preface: my interim crappy Walmart camera does not do this experience justice

Good thing I don’t have a husband yet, because this bloomin’ onion, my first ever, shared of course, was AWESOME! I really want to know how to make one of these. The sauce was a bit spicy, but Barry saved the day with Lonestar’s homemade honey mustard which was superb. I scraped that dip cup clean!! I wonder if they sell it by the bottle…..

Barry brought out a sample of their steak soup to try, on the next rainy day you just may find me with a big bowl of this, it was hearty! We each had a spoonful and let Bill finish it off!

My grilled veggies and fungus, nummy nummy nummy, I could seriously eat a pot of this!

I chose the steak medallions, and a big ole’ sweet potato! They were both delicious, I can’t remember the last time I had steak. The potato was so moist and perfectly baked, plus it was crusted with cinnamon and sugar, what a treat!

This was Anita’s steak and sweet potato casserole complete with pecans,she said it was like dessert!

This is Bill diving into his big ole’ steak and potato. Sorry Bill, not the most flattering picture, but it sure does capture how delicious this meal was and I apologize for my crappy camera! Bill is a great guy and it was fun to finally meet him!

And here is the gang, good company, good food, what more of an evening could a gal ask for?? I am so very thankful for so many things today.

Check out a major yum and raw giveaway at Healing with Raw Juices!

Today I delight in the small things, smile at others, smile at myself, and just say THANK YOU LORD!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 8:58 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful time filled with great friends and wonderful food! I’m glad you took the time to thank the Lord!

  2. June 29, 2009 9:25 pm

    Thank the Lord, indeed!! What a great evening.

  3. June 29, 2009 11:41 pm

    Thanks for linking to my contest!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

