Skip to content

The Green Monster Attacked!

June 30, 2009

An important lesson was learned today, from now on green monsters will be consumed immediately upon blendage. No more transportation, for today, I was SLIMED!


I had to make a little day trip so after drinking my much needed superseed blood juice, I made my green monster and headed out the door. I had it tightly packed in my green cup and wrapped in my plastic bag, but that monster must have been raging today. I was still actually full from last night’s indulgence and after a full morning of travel, stressful meetings, and the NC heat, I actually never got around to drinking my monster. I was actually feeling a bit nauseous, though I don’t know if it was from heat, food hangover, my body not used to red meat, or what. So when I got home and was unpacking my bag, that was when the event happened, green slime monster, everywhere, including my carpet. (I would have more picts, but I just rushed to clean things up right away).

I was exceptionally grumpy by this point and decided that my blood sugar was probably low and I should eat something so tried out some of my new Yogi Granola Crisps and a Chobani, it was perfect!

sorry for my blurry camera!

I love these granola crips! These were the Mountain Blueberry Flax. It also has some pretty good nutritional stats too! I also really like Yogi’s mission as a company and always like supporting that when I purchase products. I could definitely eat these as just a cereal, but they also have an entire line of new cereals out too!

Sorry for the super blurry crappy camera pictures 😦

Ingredients: Oats

Barley

Spelt

Amaranth

Quinoa

Brown Rice Flour

Evaporated Cane Juice, Vegetable Oil, Flax Seed, Blueberry Fruit Puree, Natural Flavors. Corn Flower, Salt, Barley Malt Syrup, Natural Vitamin

Not too bad for a delicious, light, and crispy snack attack!

I ended up having to take care of more adult responsibilities throughout the afternoon, but I did take a break to refresh and swim some laps in the pool which always cools me off and re-energizes me at the same time!

For dinner I tailored another recipe out of the Raw: The Uncook Book and it was tantalizing! The flavors all blended together perfectly!


Berry Good Cabbage Tacos+Wild Rice Fruit Salad

  • big purple cabbage leaves untorn
  • berries of choice ie. raspberries, strawberries, blueberries; a handful of each will suffice
  • homemade guacomole (raw): everyone really has their own way of doing this, their own way of spiciness, what’s on hand, so be adventurous! amount needed depends on how big your leaves are and how many you are making.
  • mango/papaya
  • sliced red and yellow pepper (add red onion if you don’t add onions in your guacomole)
  • wild rice, sprouted or cooked
  • optional: drizzle raw honey or agave for rice salad and raw salsa for tacos but they seriously don’t need it!

Layer cabbage leaves with guacomole, handful of berries, thinly sliced peppers, and mango if so choose. Toss extra fruit, peppers, and rice in a small bowl. Drizzle lightly with raw honey or agave. Chomp and enjoy, let your mouth go wild!! This is really a recipe you can create to your own desires, go crazy! It’s amazing how all the flavors meld, I’d never guess guacomole and fruit would be so great!

Well, I think I might try to wrangle another monster before bed time….it’s early tonight because last night was not so peaceful.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those who are crushed in spirit.

Psalm 34:18

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 8:34 pm

    Bummer about your green monster today… i guess it’s more of a bummer about the mess. However, all of your other eats look really deiicious. 🙂

    I love the verse you added to your blog today. It is SO true!! God wants to lift us up. He loves each and every one of us 🙂

    P.S. I got your package in the mail today!! Woo hoo! My hubby and I are both very excited!! And I love the note that you added. That actually made my day even more than the goodies! 🙂 Thank you so much! God Bless You!!

    • cottchz permalink*
      July 1, 2009 5:22 pm

      ah thanks! yeah im so glad it got there, dang postage is $$!! i want to know how the rice and sunbutter are, i haven’t tried those yet! i had to restrain myself from busing into that soyaki :p hope you enjoy it! glad you liked the note, i wanted to put a card in, but i think they are still packed 😦

Leave a Reply

