Skip to content

Destress with Juice!

July 4, 2009

Happy 4th of July! I know most people out there are making flags out of food and red and blue sprtizers, but due to the great amount of stress I have been under, and sometimes even random holidays will bring about stress to some, I had to take a day to practice some self care, and that included some juicy mocktails that are specifically formulated to help your body deal with stress!  Most of my research came from a great book, Juicing with Life which I highly recommend to anyone serious about juicing because it covers all ailments from A-Z.

I busted out the Breville, and let me tell you, I love my Brutus (that’s what I have named him) dearly. He has yet to fail me. This was the first time I have juiced any greens, and I felt stress relief just pushing all the fruits and veggies through!! It makes a nice calm whirring noise, is easy to clean, and makes instant, refrshing healthful juices. Seriously, if you can’t bust out a couple hundred for a Champion juicer, the Breville is a great way to go!

My first juice was the Super Eight Stress Reliever

  • 1 kale leaf
  • 1 collard leaf
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1 carrot
  • red pepper
  • 1 tomato
  • (it also calls for broccoli and parsley but I didn’t have those)

I have to admit I was a bit stressed at having to taste this, I’m honestly not a big fan of veggie juices (SACRILEGE!) Actually, I was quite surprised and it grew on me. I think I might add an apple next time, or some of the later made canteloupe juice because I’m just a sweet gal, but it was all in all pretty tasty, better than V8.

The endeavor was the Spicy Canteloupe Shake-

  • 1/4 inch ginger root
  • 1/2 cantaloupe, with skin

This too, caused a moment of stress as I didn’t know of Brutus could handle the canteloupe with the skin, but oh yes, he can and he put out some delicious juice! This was very tasty, and definitely had zing! It kept my tummy humming for an hour or so afterwards :p

The last one I made was the Strawberry Shake-

  • Juice: 1 pint strawberries
  • 1 firm pear
  • Pour juice in blender and blend with 1 banana
  • 1 T brewers yeast (found in your health section)-don’t mistake with yeast you use for bread

I snagged a bit of the fresh juice before blending and that was amazing! The shake was pretty good, I’ll admit it, anything with shake in the title is usually a winner with me. I could definitely taste the yeast, gave it that “healthy” vibe, but I would drink and make this again, especially if it will help me destress.

Great Vitamins found in Brewers Yeast:

  • Folic acid
  • B12
  • Potassium
  • Thiamin
  • Niacin
  • Chromium

It is low in calories, fat, and carbohydrates, even has some protein! Brewer’s Yeast has been a great natural way to treat a number of ailments ranging from anemia, STRESS, high cholesterol, constipation, and eczema.

**Note: When reseraching this I saw that people allergic to Penicillin should be wary of this…I’m very allergic, so I’m hoping I won’t react and will let you know, I will also be making a call to a fellow naturopath…YIKES!

All in all these gave me a lot of energy throughout the day and I got a lot accomplished without any mental breakdown. My car even died again, found out I had to get a new battery, but God provided once again! The man I asked for help just happened to be a mechanic, and not only did he jumpstart me, but then followed me to the auto store, had them test my battery, helped me get a new one, PUT IT IN FOR ME, and replaced my break fluid. How generous is that?? He also told me a few other things so I got his number so I could take it to him later. Thank you God for protecting and providing again and for such a compassionate human being!!

Another Amazing Giveaway!!

I have joined Polly in reading a Psalm each day so I am trying to take my verse from the one I’m reading…feel free to join us as well, July is Psaml 30-60!!!

The poor man called and the Lord heard him; he save him out of all his troubles. The angle of the Lord encamps around thos who fear him, and He delivers them. -Psalm 34:6-7

We are sturdy beings. But in many ways, we are frage. We can accept change and loss, but this comes at our own pace and in our own way. And only we and God can determine the timing. -Codependent No More

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 4:57 pm

    YUMMY Psalms and yumm juice and yummy friend… YOU! 🙂 XOXO

  2. July 5, 2009 7:23 pm

    Thanks for the Amazing Grass contest shout out!

Leave a Reply

