Skip to content

Mix it up!

July 7, 2009

Lately I’ve been waking up before my alarm even goes off and that says a lot seeing it’s 4:20am. Honestly, I think it’s just nature calling. I confess, despite the fact that I work at a coffee shop, most mornings I would stumble out of bed and make *gasp* instant coffee. Then, I noticed how it would stain my counter and not come off, goodness knows what it was doing to my insides. So, I now practice patience and put on the tea kettle while I shower and make a french press.

Nummers, I sip on it while I prepare my juice, green monster, and lunch, though I seldom am ever able to finish a cup before I run out of the house. If you truly want to taste a coffee though, french press is the way to go.

I was too tired by the time I got home last night to bust out Brutus (my juicer) so I only had a little bit left. Thus I grabbed an emergency back up to try Mix 1 has new vegetable/fruit juice mixes out that have a bit of fiber and protein in them as well. This was the berry blend one and it wasn’t too bad. It mixed quite well with the little juice I had left and my super seed powder, and although there was some stuff I couldn’t pronounce on the lable, I was put at ease after going to the website. HOLY MOLY! I have never seen anything so interactive and a company so willing to tear apart their nutrition label and explain it to you. I really like that its soy, gluten, and lactose free which is so hard to find in any commercial smoothie these days. I have tried these once or twice before when they first came out, but never the juice ones. If I’m in a pinch I think I would get one again. I wonder what the carrot/orange is like….

Lunch was a layered salad with leftover broccoli slaw, bean sprouts and some pineapple with that thai curry dressing I made last week. Packed up and ready to go:

Work was the usual. Boss was stressed about a meeting ,the kids were left alone to run the store, I soupled up my green monster which was actually quite purple, guess I went a little strong on the blueberries this morning πŸ™‚ Still tasty!!!

Before leaving, I chomped on my salad. WOOHEE! That dressing must have absobed some curriness in the fridge. Due to the stress, I have some cold sores, so this was a bit too spicy now, but I ate it anyway :p

For dinner, since it’s hot out, I made another salad. I had made a fresh batch of juice and Brutus was still out so I decided to juice me some dressing. I put some strawberries and a lemon through, then mixed it with a dash of flax oil for some healthy fats and omega’s! The strawberries were so sweet and the lemon gave it the perfect zing! You could do this in a blender too, it would just be seedy.

Roasted Asparagus Sunshine Salad

  • Mixed greens
  • Asparagus
  • Cucumber diced
  • I added some beet pulp, but you could just julien a beet or whatever veggies suit your fancy
  • bit of shaved raw cheese or your cheese of choice!
  • Fresh juiced strawberry zing dressing (mentioned above)
  • 2 eggs, poached

Place greens in bowl. Roast asaparagus in oven or on grill. (I lightly sprtized them with olive oil, salt, and pepper.) Poach eggs, if I did this again I would make them runny in the middle. Layer all ingredients in bowl, drizzle with dressing, enjoy!

The salad was okay. I would have liked it if I had a real poacher and not a microwave one so I could have made the eggs a bit overeasy. Plus my dang cold sores keep getting in the way, oh well. Also, I really wanted big crunchy asaparagus, and the store had sad thin sticks. Oh well, I’m fed, thankful, and I’ll take it!

I’m so sorry for the lame pictures, hoping to get a camera eventually that is decent :p

Have a blessed evening everyone, get ready for a mantra tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 3:14 pm

    I was up 12 minutes before you! Ha- I used to work in Starbucks and still keep making instant coffee at home! In my defense, instant is much more common here in the UK and definitely better quality than I found when I lived in the US. Though I am insanely picky about what kind- an instant coffee snob? Or is that a complete oxymoron? πŸ˜›

    Your lunch and dinner salads sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

