Skip to content

Cavegirls and Secret Ingredients!

July 9, 2009

Nothing like starting off the day with a french press of peaberry coffee! Peaberries account for only 7% of a crop and occur when a coffee bean develops into only one cherry instead of two giving the coffee a unique and vibrant flavor! You can actually see the different in the beans, I think they are cute 🙂

Meanwhile, I drank my juice and counted some cash, all numbers good to go!

Matt surprised us with a Caveman bar each today, bringing in a variety of flavors. Anita immediately got in touch with her mammal roots and started gnawing at the package.  It’s a competition to see who grows the beard first.

I tried the oats, pecan, and raisin bar. It tasted like uncooked oatmeal dough and I was actually not very impressed at all. I ate about 1/3 and gave the rest to munchy matt. I definitely do not forsee myself spending $29.95 on a box of these anytime soon.

Besides, I had a delicious monster awaiting me:

Num num green monster, and Matt trying to get on the blog in anyway possible. I think he’s just jealous. It was the usual combo:

  • 1c almond milk
  • 2.5 big handfuls spinach
  • splash of blueberries
  • 1 spoonful Jay Robb
  • 1 frozen nanner

After weeks of trying to get Matt to take the monster challenge, I saw him grab a straw and take a sip out of the corner of my eye, I was shocked. He said if he was stuck in the bathroom for hours later he was going to sue me 🙂

Before leaving I made my own wild cooler with a secret ingredient: the amazing purple powder (it’s in the cup).

This bad boy kept me going all afternoon long and had:

  • 1c almond milk
  • about 1 c frozen papaya
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1pkt Amazing Grass Pom Mango Meal (I gave this another try, I’m still finding all their stuff makes things chalky) but it gets the greens in
  • handful ice
  • 1T of Amazing Acai Powder-more on this soon!!

I served it on up in a Caribou Cup, but I don’t think any of the customer’s wanted it. None of my coworkers wanted a taste either, they looked at me like I was crazy. I was pleasantly surprised with how it turned out, and very happy with how much energy it gave me as well as the satiation factor.

Operation Mom was still in action so I was pretty busy all afternoon with more cleaning and last minute errands. It was so crazy checking in with her before her flight and saying “see you later!” My tummy gave me a little grumble after cleaning so I made myself a happy face to help me out of the afternoon slump.

Including the food play, it was about 1c of delicious, juicy, cantaloupe at its prime! I let my fruit settle a good bit while doing my errands, including checking out the GPhone (wishlist!) and munched on half a luna bar before taking on the Redbox that almost made me lost it yesterday. Thankfully, I was able to return it with no qualms.

When I got home I busted out another secret ingredient: Navita Naturals 3 berry Trail Mix to make Wild Berry Rice with Cashews!

  • 1.5 c cooked black rice (or sprouted if you want to keep this raw)
  • 1/4 c cashews (toasted if you like, which i did)
  • 1/4 c 3 berry Trail Mix (THESE MAKE THE DISH)
  • 1T coconut oil
  • sea salt to taste

Mix everything together and voila! Add the trail mix at the end of the rice cooking so the berries moisten and plump up. Toasting the cashews really adds flavor. To do so, simply put a little olive oil in a pan and toss the cashews with some sea salt briefly over heat, this does not take long at all so watch them closely!

Other than sizing it down somewhat, this pretty much came from the Navita Natural cookbook, and the recipes can also be found here.

Pray my mom has a safe flight and I can stay awake to pick her up AND get up to go to work tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

