Skip to content

Hemp “f” it’s Friday!

July 10, 2009

My mom’s plane actually came in early last night, but so did a number of other flights creating quite a wait for the luggage so I took a little nap as it was about 6 hours past my bed time and I had to be up in another 4 for work!

We got all the way to the car when my mother realized we had grabbed the wrong suitcase. No harm done, though it was a bit embarassing. Silly girl. I woke up to my alarm just fine, but my eyeballs have felt slow all day and I’m definitely a bit on the irritable side. Regardless, my superseed juice got me going after a good shake!

Being tired always messes with my appetite. I wasn’t feeling hungry around the hour I normally have my monster which was definitely green today due to the 3c of spinach or so. I drank it anyway, and once the sweet deliciousness touched my lips, my stomach growled, HUNGRY!

This definitely satisfied! It was the usual mix, a bit heavier on the spinach per usual and I really liked it. Jay Robb, blueberries, almond milk, and greens!

Before heading out I made up another lunch shake, which I’m really enjoying because it’s light enough on my stomach to not upset it but really fuels me through the afternoon. I’m playing around with different mixes and this was today’s concoction:

  • 1c almond milk
  • chunks of frozen papaya and half banana
  • pkt of Amazing Grass berry flavored greens powder
  • 1/2 pkt of vanilla jay robb (for some protein)
  • 1T Nativa Naturals Acai Powder

This was very tasty, and made a very thick and creamy shake! It would have been perfect for a bowl smoothie but I was on the go. I am loving the Acai Powder, it adds a sweet kick, not to mention a number of health benefits.

I picked my mom up, after, GRRRRR, LOCKING MY KEYS IN THE CAR!!! Thankfully, my amazing co worker saved the day. I showed her a bit of town and we ran a few errands. I snacked on some juicy canteloupe and a new PURE bar I hadn’t tried yet while we were out and about.

I really liked this one, it was the Cherry Cashew flavor. I want to find the trail mix one….

Speaking of bars, I gave Matt a coconut Larabar at work today, but he was not so keen, so we’re 1:1 on the bar exchange :p

I had a few plans for dinner, but they went awry. I was going to make the Omega burgers, with Twister Powder off the Navita site, but I mixed it up, tasted it before grilling them, and it tasted disgusting. So I sadly tossed that mess down the drain, I HATE wasting stuff, but it was not salvageable. Then, I was going to make black bean burgers with the same idea, but ended up putting too much water in as I was putting the beans in the processor, so ended up with more of a black bean hummus, sans tahini, but my recipe ended up being quite delicious, nutrient, and protein packed!

I put it on cabbage leaves and topped it with some berrys to compliment the spicy kick. My mom loved it! This was the plate we shared with some sweet potato fries on the side.

Hempy Black Bean Pate

  • 1c black beans, save liquid
  • chopped onion
  • garlic
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp cumin, or as spicy as you like it
  • sea salt to taste
  • 4T Manitoba Harvest Hemp Pro 70
  • Dash of lemon juice
  • meat of small papaya
  • dash of stevia or agave if you want to sweeten it

Combine everything in a food processor and mix until smooth. Add enough liquid to make as creamy as you would like!Β  Serve in wraps, with chips, on crackers, mix into salads, be creative!

I also made us some salads on the side. I put some fresh mixed greens with some roasted sweet potato’s, 1/4 c black beans, 1/3c quinoa, and a sprinkle of feta. The dressing I made was delicious and basically went off of Gena’s Lime Basil recipe, making a few alterations with less oil, and I had to use lemon, it was great!

It was so nice to share a meal with someone, especially my mom again! Definitely better than eating alone. My mom really enjoyed this too, and it was almost all raw! (She didn’t know she ate hemp powder though).

We’re headed on an NC adventure this weekend and off to the beach! I hope to be able to blog though!

“The Lord gives his people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.” Psalms 29:11

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 10:00 pm

    Ahh I’ve done that before with suitcases, haha – no worries! πŸ™‚

    Have fun this weekend!

    • cottchz permalink*
      July 11, 2009 6:19 am

      i just laughed, being the curious cat I am, i really wanted to look inside, but my mom was just like NO, totally freaking out and we quickly returned it, even found the owner, profusely apologizing and retrieved our own suitcase. it turned out to be a very nice lady πŸ™‚ all is well!!! (my poor mother is not a seasoned traveler at all)

Trackbacks

  1. Berry Good Reviews, Recipes, and More! « Faith in Food

Leave a Reply

