Skip to content

“Smoothie” Surfin’ at Wrightsville Beach

July 13, 2009

It was a bit of a rough night with the two of us sleeping in one room, but that just made for an early wake up call, which was fine with me, because that meant, off to the beach! Today’s agenda, Wrightsville Beach, and then wherever the open road took us…

Wrightsville was gorgeous! The water was so clear, none of that seaweed stuff I was used to from Seattle. The sand was soft, the water was warm, we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day! My tip bag was emptied into the parking meter quite literally, and we settled into the sand.

I enjoyed my green monster on the beach, I think this was the best one yet, I mean, could you imagine a better place to enjoy such cool, nourishing deliciousness?

How about renting one of those vacation homes? That’s on my agenda…

We walked down the beach a ways and discovered a big surfing competition going on, lots of very handsome looking gentlemen….It was very fun to watch. Very cool to see so many girls out there too, woohoo girl power! We walked back, my mom literally dying in the heat and took a swim. I tried to catch a wave with my kickboard, I’m no surfer and have a few tricks to learn.

All weekend I have been continually reminded by God’s beauty in all it’s simplicity. He is so wonderful and the calm, yet joyous tickle I have felt in my tum that has been missing is such a great feeling. PTL!

For lunch I had gotten my mom a pimento sammie to try as one of her southern foods, she took one bite and decided to finish off her thai salad. Oh well, she still has fried chicken and hush puppies to try πŸ™‚

You may have wondered how I had my green monster at the beach? Well, my philosophy? Have blender, will travel! Yup, I brought my blender and my ingredients and blended in the hotel room, ok ok, a little high maintenance, but I know what works, love it, might as well do it! So I had blended up my usual lunch smoothie to bring to the beach with me too and it was good. It was a bit sweeter than usual though because I had to use frozen berries, but still tasty.

We lasted about three hours at the beach, it was just too hot out for mom, and I was actually getting pretty red. So we let our parking time run out then packed up. We decided to check out a little more of the shopping around Wilmington, as well as hit up Costco. For snack I enjoyed a Chocolate Chip Trail Mix Pure Bar, which I think is one of my favorite flavors, as well as devouring the last of the canteloupe.

We had a nice drive home, it was sad though, I didn’t want to go back to reality. By the time we got home I was a hungry cat and as soon as we walked in the door I scarfed down my sesame kale salad before I could even dig out my camera so sorry, no picture. Then, I heated up a sweet potato, some left over black beans, topped it with a dash of Fage, some cinnamon, a sprinkle of splenda, and some sea salt. It was perfect!

My mom had a more fashionable plate of leftovers: the coconut trail mix rice with some sweet potato fries.

She decided to relax, while I went to say goodbye to some friends at their open house. I got lost as usual around Durham, but finally found it and caught up with some church buds. When I got home I made a soupy smoothie for my nightime snack.

There was a big YUM at the bottom of this bowl πŸ™‚ Literally, it’s one of those cute “yum” bowls from Target, it makes me happy. And, alas, I went to bed, exhausted!


“You alone are the LORD. You made the skies and the heavens and all the stars. You made the earth and the seas and everything in them. You preserve and give life to everything, and all the angels of heaven worship you.” -Neh 9:6

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    July 14, 2009 9:40 am

    I love Wrightsville beach! Soooo jealous. Looks like you had tons of fun, though! πŸ™‚

    • cottchz permalink*
      July 14, 2009 5:02 pm

      we did, i can’t wait to go back! are you ever out this way anymore?

Leave a Reply

