Skip to content

Watchout Wilmington!

July 13, 2009
tags:

Sorry for the delay in posting, I was too busy at the beach!! Phew, I know it was supposed to be vacation, and yes I did relax, but having fun can be a bit exhausting too!! This trip sure did bring back that joyfulness in my tummy and full appreciation for all of God’s beauty in every little small thing. It was in everything! I just kept thanking Him over and over again, He is so good!!

We left headed out mid-afternoon on Saturday, so I had plenty of time to start off my morning with some Psalms and supserseed juice! Perfect way to start the day! It’s so nice to not have to gulp it down while running around making coffee.

Breakfast was per usual, a green monster with lots of spinach, almond milk, dash of the berry, and Mr. Jay Robb!

When my mom got up, I made her some freshly juiced OJ, she was in heaven! I think she may be now shopping for her own juicer upon returning home! She loved the froth on top, num num!

We bustled around all morning, packing, getting the car packed, and of course I had to pack all my snacks, I’m only slightly high maintenance πŸ™‚ I made a shake for the road:

I am loving this new cup! It has a little place in the middle where I can put an ice stick and it kept it nice and cool until I ended up drinking it mid afternoon. Plus it’s big enough to hold my entire shake! DELICIOUS!

  • 1c almond milk
  • pkg of Amazing Meal pom mango
  • 1/2 banana+bit of mango
  • Acai Powder

The car trip to Wilmington went by pretty quick. My mom is dying in the heat. There were lots of people headed out for the weekend, but it was the easiest place to find yet in NC, as all you had to do was head straight on I-40 until you hit the water πŸ™‚ We were a little early for check-in so we drove around a bit to check out our surroundings and found a cute natural co-op where my mom got lunch and I found some great new raw bars to try!

After checking in, we went off to see some sites, be obnoxious tourists and get our game on! Wilmington is very cute, has great historic houses, architecture, and fun little shops!

Mid afternoon I snacked on one of my new bars, completely raw. This one was ok, sort of like a chewy fruit leather with seeds, it made my mouth feel funny. I wouldn’t buy it again, but I have two other flavors to try. I also ate a good batch of cantaloupe that disappeared before photoing.

For dinner we were recommended to go to Elijah’s, a seafood place right on the river. It was great. We ate right on the boardwalk, watched the sunset, and I tried some crazy new seafood, it was delicious! I started with a big ol’ salad because by this point I was “hangry.”

We ordered the Carolina Steam Bucket, and they first brought out our “tools” I was somewhat intimidated and wondering if I might end up at the ER before the meal was over.

This was our bucket! It was steamed with corn, new potatoes, mussels, oysters, clams, shrimp, crab, and sausage.

Here was my plate, I tried a little of everything except corn and sausage because my tummy can’t handle those.

My first attempt at hacking into a shellfish, pardon me for breaking apart your home mr. oyster!

SUCCESS!!!

This meal was amazing! The shellfish were delicious, perfectly steamed, and didn’t even need any of the dipping sauces they brought. I didn’t really like the crab, way too much work for nothing, and definitely not a date food. I also wasn’t a big fan of the shrimp, but man, do I like oysters and mussels! (Maybe they’ll help me get bigger muscles!

After dinner we walked down the boardwalk, stopping for some more photo-ops! That’s the USS Carolina, it’s haunted..MUUAAAAH!

We watched the sunset!

Then it was time for the Ghost Walk! This was a lot of fun, Wilmington is one of the most haunted towns in the USA and they have over 28 stories to tell. We got five of them on our walk.

Below is the courthouse that you may recognize from Matlock, it is haunted as well so watch out Mr. Matlock! They also have a pub crawl ghost tour, I may go on that one next time πŸ™‚

By the time this was over we were tuckered out and I was sore from all the walking. I made a quick shake for a snack before bed and got some shut eye. Stay tuned for part 2!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 4:49 pm

    So glad you got to go to Wilmington! We’ve been going to Elijah’s for YEARS!!

Leave a Reply

