Skip to content

Sunday Kitchen Adventures Part 2

July 20, 2009
tags:

The Hemp Adventure:

Manitoba Harvest sent me this awesome hemp package and in it was a package of hemp seeds. I have been thinking about what to do with these, other than just putting them in my smoothies and since I eat a bar every afternoon I have really been wanting to make some of my own. Thus, I embarked on trying 2 different bar recipes. I looked at some in books, then tweaked them a bit for my own liking. PICT0272

These are the spiffy hemp seeds, they looked a lot like quinoa to me, and I think they would be tasty in salads!PICT0275  This was the mixture of my bars, once all the stuff had been ground up, pulverized, etc. I had literally created a poop log looking creation out of the dried fruit and dates in my food processor, that was funny 🙂

The recipe I made this off of came out of a raw cook book and was supposed to be dehydrated. Well, I don’t have a dehydrator, and very little patience, thus they went into the oven at 350, so maybe that’s where things went wrong. When I tasted the mix, I was quite happy and thought it tasted great! However, upon coming out of the oven and tasting the baked bars, BLECH!!! Way too “hempy,” maybe it’s an acquired tasted. I brought a piece to my boss today and he said it tasted like a “head shot,” whatever that means, but he said it was appropriate to say :p  This was the recipe, but I don’t suggest following it, perhaps you can give me some pointers though or tell me where I can improve it:

  • 1c hemp seeds
  • 1/2c sunflower seeds (raw)
  • 1/4 raisins
  • 1/4 dried cherries
  • 5 pitted dates
  • 1/2c raw honey
  • 2T agave
  • 1/8c coconut oil
  • 1/4c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2c raw cocoa nibs
    Any ideas? What do you do with your hemp seeds? Is it an acquired taste?

      Energy Bar #2-

    Now this one came out a bit more promising, and my boss even ate two of them this morning, describing them as very fruity! I think I would make them a bit thicker next time, but for my first go around I was pretty happy with how they came out.

    PICT0276Here they are spread out unbaked….

    • 1c quick oats
    • 1/2 c raw sunflower seeds
    • 1/2c wheat germ
    • 1/2c raisins
    • 1/2c dried cherries
    • 6 pitted figss
    • cinnamon to taste
    • dash of sea salt
    • 1 egg
    • dash of raw honey
    • 2T agave
    • i used my leftover almond pulp pasty mixture from my milk (1/3c?)

    Grind all the dry ingredients together to a fine powder in a food processor, pour in bowl. Grind all the fruit together, add to the other ingredients. Mix everything together well. Spread in a 9×13 pan and bake at 350 about 20mins until lightly brown.

    PICT0281

    I left a small portion out without the egg and put it in the fridge to see what it would be like as a “raw” bar….so we’ll see how that is today!

    PICT0282Matt says: “Fruity and satisfying!” (I reminded him it’s a heck of a lot cheaper than that Caveman Bar :p ) 

    Chocolate Chia Pudding!!

    PICT0252

    Remember all those ingredients I had piled on my counter the other day and we were awaiting the product? Well, after a good night’s soak, and a little more addition of chia, (i ran out, doh!!!) I enjoyed the best dessert last night!! I’m so sad my camera sucks because it definitely does not capture how wonderful and creamy this pudding is!

    PICT0278

    Plus, it is super easy to make, not to mention the health benefits. I think this is definitely going to become a staple in my fridge.

    • 1c Chia seeds
    • 3c coconut milk (or any other milk)
    • 1T Navita Naturals Cocoa Powder
    • 2T agave
      Mix 1c of the milk with cocoa powder in blender to dissolve the powder. Pour the 2c milk, plus chocolate milk, agave, and chia seeds in a bowl. Stir every few mins. It will be ready in the next 20mins or you can stick it in the fridge. Top with some cocoa nibs, DELICIOUS!

    What are you daring yourself to do today?

    One Comment leave one →
    1. July 29, 2009 3:08 am

      Terrific! I have all of these ingredients and have been wanting to make a chia pudding. I am going to try it tomorrow, maybe with some coffee in place of some of the milk to make a cappuccino style pudding. Thanks for the recipe!

    Leave a Reply

