Skip to content

A few bites forward, and a few bites back…

July 26, 2009

I spent some time in the kitchen this weekend trying out some new ingredients, recipes, and techniques. I had both successes and failures, so I guess it balanced out.

I was very excited to find the perfect filter for a non-cheesecloth Almond Milk method. I can now make my own almond milk in about 2mins (minus the soaking time) and I love it!

PICT0311

This is a Kitchen Aid filter I found for about $6 and has the perfect holes for straining the milk quickly still leaving you the almond meal to use later.

PICT0312 In just minutes I have NUTRITIOUS and DELICIOUS, fresh almond milk, complete with froth, LOVE IT!

PICT0341 My current favorite recipe is:

  • 1c soaked almonds
  • 4-5c filtered water
  • 2 dates
  • dash of sea salt
  • dash of amaretto agave to taste (not much at all)

VERDICT-SUCCESS!

So then I tried to cook with some hemp products again. There must be a special art to using hemp that I do not possess. I tried making Crunchy Hemp Protein Bread off a recipe from the Manitoba site, and as you can see below, I quickly nicnamed it “slime bread” because that is what ended up on my cookie sheet.

PICT0336

It did not rise at all like it was supposed to, so I stuck it in a loaf pan to bake in hopes of mending this monstrosity somehow. However, upon tasting this green, bready, brick….PICT0342Definitely, two steps back.

VERDICT-FAIL!!!! Either hemp is a required taste, or it’s just not for me. I like it on salads, I don’t mind it in smoothies, but apparently I can’t cook with it, for this is the second recipe I’ve mucked up.

Well….maybe third time was a charm? Manitoba was incredibly generous in sending me all that stuff and hemp has so many great health benefits so I didn’t want to give up on it just quite yet. Besides, one thing I have learned through baking, pretty much anything can be masked with banana’s and chocolate 🙂

Thus, the creation of Hemp Banana Chocolate Bread!

PICT0338

I am proud to say this one actually came out, did not taste hempy, was not green, and actually tasted quite good. I made two small mini loaves so I could put one in the freezer and take the other to work to have some taste tests and get some feedback! I’ll let you know tomorrow!

PICT0340

The Recipe-

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2T lucuma powder
  • dash of stevia
  • 11/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2c garbanzo flour
  • 23/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1/4c hemp seeds
  • 1/4 72% dark choc ghiradelli chips chopped (in food processor)

Mix together all ingredients. Fold in the chocolate bits last. Pour into chosen baking pan and bake at 350 until toothpick comes out clean.

VERDICT-SUCCESS!

Homemade Raw Energy Bar Attempt #1-

My next adventure was my first attempt at making my own raw energy bars with no recipe. I had just made my almond milk and saw all that wonderful, nutritious almond meal, saw some very ripe bananas, and my mind got whirling. So, out came my very small (at least for energy bars) food processor and I started dumping things in.

PICT0346

  • 1/2c sunflower seeds
  • 1/2c pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 almond milk mush
  • 5 dates
  • 2 bananas
  • 1/2c flax meal
  • 1c oats
  • 3/4T lucuma
  • dash of sea salt

Here is the pan after awhile in the fridge, and as I feared, there was too much moisture left in the almond paste so they needed more dry ingredients. However, my head was keeping a nutritional profile tally, and I didn’t really want to add anymore…so, they are currently in the freezer….PICT0348 I still had a taste test. They came out of the pan so-so. Not as firm as a Larabar, but they were very tasty! Nice and sweet, maybe a dash too much salt, but I’d say not bad for a first go! We’ll see what the boss says tomorrow.

VERDICT-To Be Determined…

PICT0344

And to end the day, a little Operation Beautiful action at church 🙂 Did you see the custom post-its we made??

Don’t forget to enter the Navita Natural’s giveaway I’m hosting!! This is from me to you!

I am learning to take life one day at a time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 12:04 pm

    Thanks for the recipes! that bread looks great and I have hemp seeds. I was making “lara bars” for a while but took a break from it.
    Also, I want to make almond milk but have had cheese cloth on my list for a while. What is the thing you used, how big is it?

    • Faith permalink*
      July 27, 2009 4:37 pm

      ND
      I used a medium sized strainer that I found on sale at Target. It is made by Kitchen Aid. It works great! I’ve seen other ones similar to it, even just at the kitchen section in the grocery store. I took my first “energy bar” to work today for taste tests and like I thought my coworkers liked the taste but agreed the texture was funky, so back to the lab!!! What recipe do you use??

Leave a Reply

