Skip to content

Hump Day and Hippie Pizza!

July 29, 2009

Oh man, my body was sure feeling hump day this morning, thank goodness for super juice! Take a peek at my fun fridge 🙂 It’s probably one of my most decorated areas at the moment because magnets are small, easy to save, and send 🙂

PICT0353

Work was a bit crazy today, or maybe it was just me. It was Wild Wednesday after all, hence the orange polo (and the crazy knee socks you can’t see). Whenever it gets cloudy down here in the south, I swear people come out of the woodwork. I was spilling things left and right to top it off.

PICT0356

PTL for Green Monsters!! I also made another Rocket Maca Shake around lunchtime, but I had to stay late at work so that got slurped up in a rush before I could even find my camera.

Besides, you know what shakes look like by now, a bunch of stuff mucked up together that end up in some funky color. YOU ALL appreciate it, my co-workers just go, “what is it that you are drinking…..”

PICT0355

NUM NUM for delicious summer fruits!!! Some beautiful red plums may have disappeared from this container before photo was taken…..darg gone munchies.

Today was a catch up day on the homefront since I was gone from dawn til dusk yesterday. I juiced, did laundry, swept up a bit, etc. I decided it was time to do another deep clean on my juicer by soaking the filter in lemon juice. Mr. Brutus works hard to produce me such deliciousnesss!

PICT0359

Then I set to work on dinner. I adapted the following recipes out of Thrive by Brendan Brazier-which is an awesome book full of some very good information.

Quinoa and Pink Eye Pea Pizza Crust-

Here is the raw crust that was blended all together in my food processor. I got to use my pink eyed peas from the farmers market!

PICT0358    

  • 4 cloves garlic (if you like garlic, use less if you don’t)
  • 1 cup cooked pink eye peas (or sprouted to make raw) you can sub black eye
  • 1 cup cooked or sprouted quinoa
  • 1/2 c chickpea flour
  • s+p to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4c hemp oil
  • (if you like it spicy, add 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1tsp chili flakes)

Sundried Tomato Marina-

PICT0364

Process everything together in a food processor or blender:

  • 1c sundried tomatoes, soaked for 20mins
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1c chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2c grated cucumber
  • 2T hemp oil
  • 1T flax oil
  • 1T balsamic vinegar
  • 1T italian seasonings
  • sea salt to taste
  • 1c water

    PICT0363

    Topping-

    • 1/2 sliced red bell pepper
    • 1/2 diced onion
    • 1/2 grated sweet potato
    • 1 grated med beet
    • 1c cauliflower florets
    • italian seasoning
    • if you like spice, add some chili flakes

    PICT0365Here it is out of the oven. I cooked it at 325 for about 40mins…cooking time will vary depending on moisture from veggies, crust, and how crispy you want it. I was actually pleasantly surprised. I’m sure the marinara would have been better had I not screwed up the recipe but it was still very flavorful! The veggies, despite the odd combination, was quite good and made up for any lack of cheese though I found myself kind of wishing there was at least a sprinkle of feta. I think I might try adding nutritional yeast to the sauce next time. The crust was very good, thick, crispy, yet still doughy enough. Yeah, it wasn’t the usual light and fluff pizza crust, but I wasn’t expecting that. It was very filling and very nutritious, and I don’t think you could ever find a personal pizza THAT BIG and get that much good nutrition out of it at the same time! I’ll definitely be experimenting with this again!

    Don’t forget, you only have two day left to tell me what Navita’s Natural’s product you want in my giveaway! Also, they are offering a 25% off discount until August 27th!!

    One Comment leave one →
    1. Debbie Rose permalink
      July 31, 2009 6:05 pm

      Hey B! It’s mee!
      Your pic is so cute! I love your blog. You need to find some sort of job that utilizes your writing skills.
      I hope you are doing well.
      love you!

    Leave a Reply

