Skip to content

Mall Madness-Define Yourself!

August 1, 2009

I am not a “fashionista” by any means. I never wear makeup, although I do own a bit. If you asked me how to use it, it would be like teaching your teenage how to paint themselves for the first time. God created me how I am, so why cover it up?

Seldom do I know what the latest trend is. It is not unless I actually hit up the mall do I actually see what is out there, and often I am shocked. I’ve always had my own style, and not always gone with the norm. In fact, going to a shopping mall is often an overwhelming experience. I find them superficial, and get easily disgusted by all the overpriced items. On a more personal note, I will admit there are times I do leave with a wish list of all the things I cannot afford and maybe this is where a few of my disgruntled feelings stem from. However, I also lived for over six months out of a single backback, and learned that I can do with very little, so it all comes from life’s experiences.

Thus, I digress. Shopping for clothes can be a very frustrating experience for many women. They so often define themselves by their size, a number on a tag that no one will ever even see. The fall victim to a style that may or may not be comfortable for them or compliment their already beautiful body, not realizing that it will be gone within a month.

Where do you shop? How do you shop for clothes? Do you just grab something off a rack? Is it the color that captures your eye? How do you choose what stores to go into?

I will not shop at certain stores or buy certain brands in particular for the plain fact that they continue to degrade and demoralize women. Abercrombie and Fitch is one of the top offenders on my list. Unbeknownst to some, they have a “”look book.” This means that they will not even hire people that do not meet the required physical statutes to work there. DISGUSTING! On top of that, they have live models working there during holiday seasons and such, flaunting their wears, almost half naked. This is not something I need to see in order to purchase a t-shirt or a pair of jeans.

I-topLogo logo from www.abercrombie.com

Calvin Klein, Dolce and Gabana, Tommy Hilfiger, Ralph Lauren, the list goes on. These are all companies that continue to put out ads convincing women they need to be stick skinny to look beautiful, wear their clothes, and sexualize them in their ads.   Check out this site which keeps an ongoing collaboration of other ads: Love Your Body.

c-k photo from http://loveyourbody.nowfoundation.org/offensiveads.html

The next time you go shopping, go for yourself. Find something you are comfortable in, and something that expresses YOU! Remember that you are beautiful every time you look in the mirror and give yourself at least a half smile. If something doesn’t feel right, just throw it off, don’t get frustrated and take it out on yourself.  Think about where your precious pennies are going and who you are supporting.

You are striving to be a better person each and every day. The clothes you wear are an expression of that, but what’s underneath is so much more important. As for the number, the name, and whatever else is on that tag? No one ever sees it. What they see is your gorgeous face and what they remember is your contagious and sparkling personality.

Father, I am clay in your hands, help form me to be a better person each day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Oof permalink
    August 2, 2009 6:44 pm

    Growing up in poverty, fashion was not an option for me. I empathize with the aggravation of shopping the malls. What’s great is seeing a picture of 2 women wearing the same thing (happens alot in hollywood), but only 1 looks beautiful-it’s the smile and way she carries herself.

Leave a Reply

