Skip to content

Do you know the Muffin Man? PB+J Muffins and More!

August 2, 2009

I didn’t really have a plan for today, which I guess was good because a few unexpected things rolled my way, so I just kind of rolled with it. My mornings started off per usual though, with superseed juice of course!

PICT0373

I have the weekend off so i got to enjoy this at home. After I powered up, I tried out the gym at my apartment and did some time on the elliptical! I came back, cleaned, and made my shakes to take with me because I wanted to go to the farmers market, just the local one today.

PICT0376

It was quaint, and I left without only spending a few dollars on some fresh blueberries for my muffins later! I also got to talk to the raw bakery chica again and got some tips on baking with lucuma! She rocks!

PICT0375

I worked on some articles at the local co-op before running some more errands and hitting up the ‘bou for my coffee mark-out. Good thing I did! I knew things were going to change after speaking with my boss yesterday, but I guess I just “didn’t get it.” Today was his LAST DAY! SAY WHAT?? I was CRUSHED!! We just got him recently and he has been so great for our store! i was so sad, he has taught me so much.

PICT0379

My co-worker Julie had got him a dark/white chocolate cake in honor of our new chocolate in honor of him, so I also went out and got him a bunch of snacky bars from WF, a gift certificate, and some funny rice krispy treats he likes. He will definitely be missed.

PICT0380

It was one of those hot, muggy, semi-cloudy days in NC, so I headed back home, took a dip in the pool, and tried out a new recipe I had been mulling over in my head. It actually came out pretty well! Thus, I present you with Strawberry Almond Butter and Jelly Muffins!

PICT0385 RECIPE:

  • 1c ww pastry flour
  • 1/2c ap flour
  • 1/4 lucuma powder
  • 25-30 drops stevia
  • 1/2 very ripe banana
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3c applesauce
  • almost 1/2c non dairy milk, start with 1/3 and adjust if batter is too dry
  • 1 egg

Mix all ingredients together, fold berries in last. If you don’t have lucma or stevia, you can substitute with 1/2c sugar.

NOTES!!!

This made a very moist muffin, at first I thought my batter was too dry so I added a little more milk, so play with it. This was my first attempt! If you want it more cake like, you could probably stay with just 1/3c milk and leave out the banana.

They are pretty straight-forward. Basically you make the recipe as follows. I used a bash and chop to chop up fresh strawberries, I LOVE SUMMER! Fold these in last.

PICT0386

Once your batter is made, spoon half of them into the muffin cups. Then put a dollop of chosen nut butter and a dollop of chosen jam. I wouldn’t use jelly because it’s too runny.

PICT0387

Then top each muffin with the rest of the batter, sealing each to the edge. Bake at 350 until done! You can’t necessarily do a total toothpick test on these because of the center, but you can tell when they are done. They took a little over 25mins I think, but my oven is funky so just watch them.

PICT0389

DELICIOUS!  A healthy, simple, compact AB+J muffie to go on the run, no knife or mess needed!

Check out this Gluten Free giveaway over at Run to the Finish.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 10:10 am

    yum yum!

  2. August 2, 2009 7:27 pm

    Oh my goodness! those look so sinful! 😀 YUM!

Leave a Reply

