Skip to content

I am not an object!

August 2, 2009

I cannot even count the number of times I have been in a grocery store check-out browsing magazine headlines and read, “What body shape are you…apple, pear, ruler, hourglass, etc?” Thus, leading my eyes into my produce studying my fruit, then tracing up my legs, and torso thinking, I’m not red or green, I don’t think I look like my snack.

09_08_14---Fruit-Apple_web

it makes me want to scream. “I AM NOT AN OBJECT!” I am a person, I have so many qualities, quit reducing me to a simple fruit or a school supply. I have so much more to offer the world and you do too.

pear

Women are at a constant battle with their bodies due to society’s ever embarking messages, such as the headlines in the checkout aisle. Start to mock those messages and turn that thinking around. Fruit is a wonderful thing, especially during the summer. I love biting into a juicy peach and let it drip down my chin. I love the crunch of an apple and topping it with a dollop of freshly ground almond butter. However, I will never use it to describe my body. I will use it for fuel and enjoyment but nothing else!

ruler_~u18118701

A ruler? Wonderful for measurement and making straight lines. Great for swatting a fly and knocking some sense into someone every now and again, but a descriptor for someone’s body stature? I think not.

We are more than objects. We are beautiful creatures that have been made to let our voices be heard, have character and virtue. Let that be known, and as Sark would say, “go crazy and eat mango’s in bed naked!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 10:06 am

    great post 🙂 very uplifting!

  2. Oof permalink
    August 2, 2009 6:29 pm

    Women describe shapes and sizes with fruit, Men use sports equipment. I think my tush is shaped like a football. I do wish more magazines focused on helping women accentuate their beauty and not tell them how to fix their flaws. Good observations Faith.

Leave a Reply

