Skip to content

Muffin’s, Mocha’s, and Mondays

August 4, 2009

Now, when it comes to fresh blueberries I usually covet them and eat them fresh, but I plan on going blueberry picking, and I did get quite a good deal at the farmer’s market yesterday, so I decided to splurge and share a cup of my sacred berries and try out the Blueberry Chia Muffins recipe that has been roaming around.

I did alter it a bit because I’m still playing around with lucuma powder, as well as figuring out my oven, but all in all they came out pretty tasty. The biggest problem I’m having is things coming out too dense and moist, no matter how long I cook them. I’m not sure if that’s due to the lucuma, or my oven, or just the darn fact I need to stinkin’ follow a recipe and quit going off on my own cahoots!

PICT0390Blueberry Chia Muffins-Adapted from Another One Bites the Crust

  • 1  1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4c lucuma powder
  • 20 drops stevia
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 3 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup nondairy milk
  • 1 cup blueberries

Combine above, fold in blueberries at the end. Bake at 350.

Maybe I’m using too much fruit? I think more than 1c got in there, what can I say, I love me some berries!

After my baking morning and getting some exercise in, I headed off to church and dropped some operation beautiful action in the restroom 🙂

PICT0391 “You are clay in God’s hand and He has made you beautiful just the way you are!”

The highlight of my day was getting to meet a very fabulous woman and author of the blog Ghost World! I have been reading her blog for awhile now, and she turned me on to Orla Kiely goodies (at least the more affordable ones at Target!) Sarah is a fellow Carolinian and came to do a mocha taste test at Caribou.

PICT0392 While the mocha’s were fabulous, she chose dark, so I got the milk chocolate one in order for her to try it, I must say the company was better 🙂 Sarah is really down to earth, easy to talk to, genuine, and fun! Plus, she makes some killer dishes out of the Martha Stewart cookbook she is currently going through. I can attest to this as she was kind enough to bring me her latest creation, blueberry coffee cake, and it was delicious!

PICT0395 Sorry for the late post, it seems computer trouble is reaping everywhere! Needless to say, it’s been quite a Monday, and I have a case of it :p

Blessings to you all!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 4:44 pm

    THese look great, I have to try the chia but haven’t sprung for them yet!

  2. August 7, 2009 8:44 pm

    get some chia with the navita natural discount that is good until 8/27!!!

Leave a Reply

