Skip to content

Summertime and Smoothies Galore!

August 7, 2009

Sorry for my lack of posting, but I’ve had both computer trouble and just general life craziness the past two days! Plus, sometimes you just need to be out there livin’ rather than sitting in front of a computer.

Now, I don’t always post my every intake throughout the day, because in all honesty for the past few months, the first half of my day is almost the exact same, give or take a snack, granola bar, fruit mixture,etc and that would make one boring blog. So, I usually highlight something fun, or weird I’ve noticed, such as the past few mornings. I always add blueberries to my green monster…thus when I blend it, it comes out the purple-greyish color…

PICT0410

However, when I drink it at work, the true GREEN MONSTERISH shines through…my co-workers say it’s the chlorophyll-effect…I did not study plants, to me it tastes darn good and makes me feel good so whatever chemical reaction is going on, so be it!

PICT0411

 Holy Yum Healthy Peach Cobbler Smoothie

PICT0415 So the other day HEAB was asking for more smoothie ideas and I busted out an old one I used to drink all the time, as in oh, 3-4 a day 🙂 I had a standard base recipe and would jazz it up depending on my mood, flavor I wanted, nutrition density, etc. The secret ingredient? Sugar Free Pudding. Gasp, I know, not a total whole-food, but in small quantities I’m sure it won’t kill you and after you taste this, you’ll definitely make an exception. Plus, Bill Cosby endorsed, can’t be all bad! And, since I was doing a ton of triathlons and always placing near the top, it can’t be that bad 🙂

Thus, I present the Peach Cobbler Smoothie!

  • 1c milk of choice (yes, non-dairy one’s will work_
  • 1/2c-3/4c greek yogurt
  • 2T sf white choc jello pudding
  • 1c frozen peaches
  • dash of cinnamon to taste
  • handful ice cubes

Blend all of the above until smooth and creamy, will be the texture of semi-runny frozen yogurt, though it can be made thicker with more yogurt and ice, or more frozen fruit. Top with a fresh peach and 1/2c Apple Cinnamon Yogi Crisps crumbled up! Enjoy the peach bliss of summer!!!

This was insane! I was in total peach heaven! It was smooth and creamy, and made a huge bowl! Plus, it was a great serving of calcium, protein, fruit, and whole grains!

While this was definitely the delight on the food front for the afternoon, the exciting news on the living life front is I found a bike to layaway while it’s on sale!! My goal is to walk over to the store after work everyday and just plunk my tips down towards payment before I spend them on something stupid!

PICT0413For those of you that don’t know, I used to be a major cyclist and triathlete. I have actually ridden from Seattle to Arizona! I had to sell my previous road bikes in order to pay for medical bills when I got sick and it was like losing my soul. This is a great entry level bike, nothing like before, but I’m perfectly fine with that, I just want to hit the pavement again! It will be at least a couple months until I pay it off, but hard work always does!

Bust out your blender!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 9:10 pm

    Oooh, holy yum creation indeed.

    That’s fascinating about the long bike journey you’ve taken!!

    • Faith permalink*
      August 8, 2009 6:15 pm

      you know that “holy yum” is all veggie girl!!

  2. Oof permalink
    August 8, 2009 5:45 pm

    Now I have a craving for some peach cobbler yogurt/pudding. What is special about greek yogurt?

    • Faith permalink*
      August 8, 2009 6:14 pm

      greek yogurt is strained leaving it with tons more protein, thicker, and easier to digest! you should try it!! trader joes has it at the best price usually.

Leave a Reply

