Skip to content

BBQ Tofu and a Purple Potato?

August 10, 2009

It has been beyond hot these past few days and I’ll admit, heat makes me cranky.  The first part of my day is fine because my work is so cold you actually need to drink hot coffee to stay warm inside. However, upon leaving, dressed in all black, it’s an immediate heat blanket.

I cooled off and fueled up with this chlorophyll-filled chocolate-banana smoothie!

PICT0426 It actually looked like a chocolate milkshake after first blend, but after the green power drops, I had a green monster on my hands :p It still tasted exactly like banana chocolate though! I also had another raw granola bar that was consumed while driving so no picture but still delicious!PICT0427

  • 10oz chocolate almond milk
  • 3/4 frozen banana
  • 6oz greek yogurt
  • 1/2 pkt chocolate jay robb
  • 20 drops chlorophyll

Today,I decided to head out to a new pool in Raleigh that is a full lap pool but outdoors. IT was wonderful! I’ve been swimming in my apartment pool which is fairly short, so it’s like stroke stroke, flip turn, stroke stroke repeat. You just can’t get into a good rhythm or pace that way. Today was a real treat and I got a good workout in.

While swimming I was trying to decide what I wanted for dinner and I have been craving bbq tofu ever since that stuff I had at earth fare! However, most bbq sauce is too spicy for me because I’m such a pansy and I knew I wouldn’t be home in time to make my own before I became ravenous. So I hit up Wholepaycheck and found some Annie’s Smoky Maple, and a PURPLE NC Sweet Potato!! Nummers, fries are coming out of that sucker!

PICT0428 Here is a good shot of the sweet potato which I broiled with a spritz of coconut oil. It was pretty tasty, maybe a bit earthier than a normal sweet potato, but I would get it again, plus I love to support my local farmers and eat all the colors of the rainbow!

The tofu came out good! I added a little stevia to the sauce and it was perfect! Not as good as earth fare, but still tasty. I had pressed the Extra Firm Tofu earlier and left it in the fridge so it was ready to just be cut up. I then tossed it in the bbq sauce and broiled it for a bit, turning it half way.

The lump of veggies is sauteed mushrooms, garlic, and zuchhinni in apple-cider vinegar and white wine. I’m using apple-cider vinegar in a lot of my stuff to help with my digestion.

All together with my juicy fruit!

 PICT0431

One Comment leave one →
  1. randomlymikey permalink
    August 14, 2009 4:30 pm

    i love bbq tofu!

Leave a Reply

