Skip to content

Tummy Taming Salad

August 11, 2009

I think I’m finally experiencing the North Carolina summers I have been hearing about, and it’s making me cranky 🙂 I have to admit, I’ve been a bit burnt out with some other stuff, but I’m trying not to let it get me down. I’m also trying to find some new goals and things to look forward to since I think my mom’s visit was a bit of a highlight and now I’m sort of like, ok, now what?

Anyway, the food. I was super hot this afternoon by the time I got home from work and my appointments. I went swimming only to find I think I left my goggles and cap at the other pool, DAGGERS! It was still nice, I mostly kickboarded, good for the legs!

Dinner was a tummy comfort version of a mexican veggie blend salad I guess you could say. I’m having to watch what I eat because my tummy is having digestion issues. I’m using a lot of apple-cider vinegar because it’s supposed to help you produce extra enzymes to aid in digestion.

PICT0433

I also found some aloe vera cubes at Trader Joes this afternoon which I ate with my meal, they weren’t bad! You’re supposed to drink aloe juice, but the big jug they had was $8 vs. the 99cent can of the cubed vera so I thought I’d try that first.

PICT0432

I sauteed some yellow squash, peppers, and onion with a good dollop of garlic in a pan and layered that at the bottom of my bowl. I then added a 1/2c of Fava Beans, a serving of grilled chicken, 1/2 a very under ripe avocado for my good fats, and a bit of tomato!

PICT0434

PICT0435

Of course, any salad wouldn’t be complete without salsa on the side! I’m a total spice pansy, so this is a new mild I’m trying.

PICT0438

Sweet potatoes are also good for the tum, so I made some more fries, DELISH!

PICT0437

And juicy watermelon and mango on the side! Those are the little aloe cubes up front!

PICT0436

The meal was very filling and had good flavor! I could only finish half of the sweet potato and not all the fruit, swimming always makes me hungry but I guess my eyes were bigger than my stomach 🙂

I have a lot of blogs to catch up on, some affirmations and bible reading to do. My nights are usually kind of lonely. I have to go to bed early, so it shuts down taking a class or going to some meet ups of sorts half the time and I don’t have television.

How do you spend your evenings?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 7:00 pm

    the heat has been makin gme cranky too – but we just had a nice cooling tstorm here! now only 83 outside!!

    We have quiet evenings too – reading, internet, and tv normally. I love chasing, singing to, and loving on my beagles though too 🙂

  2. August 12, 2009 8:09 am

    Mm.. this sounds like a meal that I would put together! I have all of that stuff so I might make it tonight!

Leave a Reply

