Skip to content

Wild Wednesday Casserole with Cornbread Crusted Plantains

August 12, 2009

 

It was Wild Wednesday at work, which meant my wild outfit, complete with happy socks cradling my green monster!PICT0439

After work I had to venture to Durham for an appointment, I hate going there because I always get lost. I made and guzzled my shake on the way, and refueled with these new bars I found. They are only 150cals which is perfect to pair after my shake settles and completely raw. They are also made right here in NC!

PICT0440

The heat has subsided slightly leaving us with humid thundershowers, but I still braved the sprinkles and went for a nice granny run at the Duke Gardens which is gorgeous! I came right home and fed my muscles a chocolately protein shake which I turned green with some more cholorella 🙂

PICT0441   Dinner was another Faith creation and let’s use up what’s in the fridge 🙂 I made a casserole using the following and it turned out pretty darn good!

WILD WEDNESDAY CASSEROLE

*you can really be very lenient with all ingredients (changing out grains, beans, veggies, etc…run wild!!)

  1. layer bottom of 8×8 casserole dish with quinoa
  2. layer with beans, i used Fava beans

PICT0443

  1. Sautee veggies of choice with seasonings. I used garlic, white wine, apple cider vinegar, sea salt, pinch cinnamon, kale, yellow zuch, onion, and peppers.
  2. Spread them over grains/beans, press down.

PICT0444

Meanwhile, microwave 2 sweet potatoes for about five minutes or until slightly soft. Peel and slice them thinly and layer over veggies. (If I made this again I think I would actually boil the potatoes and mash them.)  Sprinkle with salt and cinnamon.

PICT0446   Put dish in oven and bake at 350 covered until the potatoes are soft. Meanwhile, prepare the plantains.

Slice 2 plantains thinly lengthwise.  Coat in egg white, then dredge each slice in cornmeal. Heat coconut oil in pan. Fry 3-4 wedges at a time until crispy. Drain on paper towel.

PICT0451

Once the potatoes are soft, pull the pan back out and layer the plantains on top. Place back in over and broil the entire dish uncovered for another few minutes keeping your eye on it.

PICT0453

Slice and enjoy! Here is the inside goober goodness!

PICT0454

And my festive feast, complete with juicy fruit!! This was my first time having plantains and they were delicious!

One Comment leave one →
  1. randomlymikey permalink
    August 14, 2009 4:29 pm

    cute socks 🙂 don’t you love food made close to home? that mug is adorable!
    http://randomlymikey.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

