Skip to content

Veggie Stir Fry+Sweet Sesame Tofu Thursday!

August 20, 2009

I think I’m a little late, Happy Herbivore said it’s Tofu Tuesday, but for me it’s Tofu Thursday, hope she understands 🙂 Sorry for my pity post yesterday, I think aunt flo had me in the dumps a bit, and that may be a bit TMI for some, but I’m a blunt and honest gal, and sometimes I cover that up on here, but let’s be honest, I’m real and authentic so I should be here too, right?  Well, I guess there are limits…ANYWAY…

A few major steps today:

1) Check out this snack, it’s NOT blended!

PICT0479

  • Diced peach, few chunks of watermelon, blackberries
  • pinapple coconut dannon yogurt
  • sprinkle of Navita Natural Berry Trail Power
    PICT0480

Creamy, crunchy, goodness! A good reminder I shouldn’t blend everything 🙂 The dannon was okay, not a big fan though and could definitely taste the artificial flavors. This probably explains why it has been in my fridge for a few months and was way past expiration, good thing yogurt doesn’t really expire.

I was very excited, and hungry for dinner. The spoofy yogurt didn’t have much protein, and although I added the trail mix, I was really craving my veggies, and my mind was probably exciting my mental hunger for the tofu I had picked up. I ate just before five, but remember, I get up at 4am.

I sauteed kale, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and zuchinni, with braggs, white wine, apple cider vinegar, a little teriyaki, and a great dose of garlic (eek for Kath :p ) but oh so delicious! She would be “fuming” and it probably explains why I’m single.

PICT0481

Then, since I’m such an early bird and get so tired by the end of the week, I took a few short cuts. I tried this new mix by Seeds of Change called Tigris. It has 260cals per 1c, 5g fiber, and 7g protein and is a mix of seven grains. It was pretty tasty!

PICT0482

You just have to nuke it for less than 2 minutes and it comes out very moist! I can’t get my rice to come out that good. Then I nuked my take home treat from WholePayCheck, the Sweet Sesame Tofu that was on sale, and I got a small container for under $3-which meant I could pay for it from my tip change 🙂 I tried a sample and it was well worth it. I can cook chicken any which way, but still haven’t gotten tofu down quite yet. They had used a bit of cornstarch to get a nice crusty outside so the tofu had a great crunch with a creamy inside, just how I like it!

PICT0484

All together! My layer of veggies on bottom, about 2/3c Tigris, and a good dose of the tofu! This was delicious and fun to eat because of all the layers and different textures! The kale was very good in the stir fry too, it stayed just chewy enough and didn’t wilt like spinach does which I quite liked.

Nevertheless, the entire day did not go unblended, I wouldn’t want to disappoint you!

PICT0477 There was the usual “order” of my green monster! I actually craved this so much I drank one before bed last night too :p I need to take stock in Jay Robb….

And, check out these hot socks!

PICT0478 This is my afternoon VEGA shake atop my Wild Wednesday socks 🙂 My outfit was even crazier yesterday than ever. My shake looked the same today, but this was a much sassier picture. Wow, sometimes I frighten myself.

Hope you all have a wonderful Thursday, BE SASSY!

Wear fun socks tomorrow, let me tell you, it makes you feel spunky. Today, my socks didn’t match at all, one was stars, the other was blue patches, and I loved it, hehehehe.

Things I learned today:

  • Don’t park in front of dumpsters, your car will get towed.
  • Help other people find their Ben and Jerry’s flavor, you get to stand in front of an open freezer door for longer on a very hot day and they appreciate it.
  • Sometimes friends come along at just the right time. I’m very thankful for all my friends. I don’t have a whole lot, and I value each and every one.
  • I love my customers, whether or not they know it, they all mean a great deal to me. I miss them when I do not see them, I wonder about their lives, I wish I could sit down and have coffee with all of them so I could learn more about them.
  • I might have a bad day, I might get in a funk but there is always tomorrow and I can start again.
  • God is good, He does amazing things, I can trust in Him, and He will lead me where I need to go.

What is one crazy thing you learned today, about you, yourself, the world, anything?

Why does Alton Brown sit in the corner of his kitchen? I would be scared…

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 3:35 pm

    Mmm good foods today!!

Leave a Reply

