Skip to content

Eggstatic it’s almost payday…

August 27, 2009

Sorry for the delayed posting, I have a weird schedule this week and part of that included some back to back shifts with less than an eight hour turn around which left me exhausted, loopy, nauseous, and desperately needing some recovery time.

Nonetheless, I would not leave you without a Wild Wednesday Green Monster and crazy socks!!! (you’re probably like, please spare me!) You know how I love my socks and monsters though!!

PICT0537 I’ve actually been craving some salt and crunchiness lately rather than a smoothie after work, so I made myself a chicken taco salad. You can’t see all the layers here, but it’s black beans, spinach, tomatoes, yellow and read peppers, with some grilled chicken on top. A bit of salsa ensued and it hit the spot!

PICT0532 I brought out two of my loves this afternoon, one old, one new. The first was good ol’ Brutus, my juicer! He whipped up a wonderful batch of fresh juice for my next couple of early mornings!

PICT0539 Lately I’ve been doing:

  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Gala Apples
  • Beets
  • Cucumbers

This is the “superseed” juice I talk about in the mornings. I call it superseed because I add the superseed powder in it. It’s perfect and refreshing at 4am!

The second is my new found love and only an occasional indulgence because it’s real yogurt and I’m lactose intolerant but this is totally worth it. If you are not lactose intolerant, I highly suggest you stocking your fridge with this divine creation ASAP!

PICT0540 PICT0541 Sorry for the blurry picts, still using the Walmart camera. This is Stonyfield’s White Chocolate Raspberry Cream Top Yogurt and it is sinfully delicious! It is creamy, smooth, and not artificial tasting at all like other yogurts I’ve had lately. This is the real stuff! It is nice and thick and would be a great sweet treat, something you could definitely have in place of ice cream. It has all the probiotics, and 5g of protein! Plus, it’s only 170cals, which isn’t bad considering it’s one of the full, thick and true yogurts, and not the watered down, artificial 60cal crap that’s out there now. I found this for 89cents not even on sale, cheaper than ice cream too!

Okay, enough of the free Stonyfield plug. I’m so glad tomorrow is payday for many reasons. Dinner tonight was using up one of the wraps that has been sitting in my fridge for goodness knows how long and some hard boiled eggs. Eggs make a great, cheap meal. I always keep some on hand because you can get a dozen at Trader Joes for 99cents and are very versatile!

PICT0542 I made an egg salad for my wraps and added some spinach and leftover watermelon. That pretty much cleans out the produce from my fridge now. I had my Stonyfield yogurt for dessert! It was perfect!

Pinchin’ Payday Egg Salad:

  • 2 hardboiled eggs
  • glob of greek yogurt (or mayo, or plain yogurt or whatever creamy substance on hand)
  • squirt of honey mustard (dry mustard works good too)
  • sprinkle dill
  • garlic
  • sea salt and pepper

This is good in wraps, on bread, on crackers, pita’s etc, very versatile and use whatever you have left lying around! You can even put it in a salad! I like to use greek yogurt because it adds some extra protein. Also, don’t be afraid to use the yolks, its where all the vitamins are. Eggs have gotten a bad wrap for some reason and they’re actually quite good for you as long as you’re not eating the entire dozen!

I’m still feeling exhausted from this whole week and worn out from all the stress, blah on life and all it’s adult decisions and responsibilities. Sometimes I see those toddlers at the supermarket and feel somewhat envious. Then again, I’m such an independent girl, my senses get the better of me quite quickly!podcasts I’m off to do a little blog catch up possibly, but I really want to keep reading my book and I need to get to bed earlier to do that! Plus, I’ve just gotten into Californication and it rocks! I have been in love with David D. since the x-files and had no clue he was in this show, so I’m pretty much in heaven right now.

“You don’t have to let what others say affect you negatively. Others may say the words, but YOU choose your attitude.”

-Keith D. Harrell

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

