Skip to content

“Killer” Bread Pudding Pancakes

August 28, 2009

So I’ve decided I don’t think it’s in me to follow a recipe. I don’t know if it’s just part of my inborn social deviance, the fact that cooking is my outlet for creativity, or that I just like doing it my own way :p Everytime I read a recipe though or try to follow it, I still find myself changing it up, making some sort of substitution, thinking it will be better this or that way, making it my own. I’ve had some come out great, others not so great, but that’s how you learn. This, is also why I haven’t baked very much lately. In baking, you need to measure, and I’ve been much more of a “just throw a dash of this or that” in the pot mood :p

I also don’t think I completely follow a recipe because then at the end, I can claim it is “mine”, victorious or not, and usually put the recipe on my blog without worrying about a copyrighter coming after me. Yes, as tangent as all this babble may sound, good eats do come abound.

You will recall last week, maybe it was even earlier this week, everything is a blur by Friday, I received some Dave’s Killer Bread.  THE BEST BREAD IN THE WORLD!!! Ok, so I saw a tweet (yes, I jumped on the bandwagon and am slowly trying to figure out all that nonsense) and saw he was looking for some good recipes.

Thus, I bring you KILLER BREAD PUDDING PANCAKES! (just in time to make for a nummy Saturday breakfast!)

PICT0549

These were moist, springy, delicious, and almost tasted like french toast but in pancake form.

PICT0544 This recipe does take patience though. Part of it requires soaking the bed chunks for about 15minutes in milk. Then, after mixing both portions of the batter together, you let all of it sit for another 15 minutes.

PICT0548 Check out the killer bread chunks! They were kind of hard to flip and I still don’t have state of the art pans. If you are able to do the flip in the air pancake technique, yours will come out beautifully! They take a little love and care to flip, make sure you see the bubbles so you know the bottom side is done before you flip it. Also, turn on your oven so they stay warm while you cook the batch. Definitely don’t use more than 1/4c at a time!

PICT0551

HOLY YUM! Topped with a bit of almond butter and my new favorite Organic Maple Syrup with Agave Nectar from Trader Joes!

PICT0552 A warm ooey gooey bite! Sooooo…..gooooooood!!!!!

PICT0550 And at last….the recipe!

  • 1/2c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4c all purpose flour
  • 1T baking powder
  • cinnamon to taste (i love cinnamon)
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 7 slices DAVES KILLER BREAD! (or another bread will do i suppose)
  • 2c milk (something with fat in it….)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3T melted butter

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a small bowl. Cut up bread in small pieces, crusts off and pour milk over them in a separate bowl. Let stand for 15minutes or until it begins to fall apart, stirring occasionally. Add the flour mixture to the bread. Mix in the eggs and butter. Let the entire mixture stand another 15 minutes.

Spray a skillet and let it heat up a bit on medium. Use a 1/4measuring cup to drop batter onto skillet. It takes roughly 2min per side for each pancake. Keep warm in preheated oven. It will make quite a bit of pancakes! Top with fruit, syrup, peanut butter, whatever your heart desires, it’s delicious!

 

So what about you, do you follow recipes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 7:22 pm

    Those look scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

