Skip to content

Caveman Bar Review+White Bean and Kale Soup!

August 31, 2009

It was a dreary day here in the Carolina’s letting us know that summer is ending and fall is near. I definitely will not mind the drop in heat, that’s for sure. I had the day off today, but a lot of errands to run. The first got me very lost in frustrating Durham and the only fruitful thing to come out of it was I sat long enough in a waiting room to sort out my big pile of mail :p

Then I headed off on my fun activity! Caveman Bars, which are handmade in Edmonds, Washington, right near where I grew up, sent me some bars to try out. My old boss was able to find a few and fell in love and I thought they might be cool to carry at Caribou. So, I nabbed another Caribou buddy and we drove down to find my old boss at his new store and taste test all the Caveman goodness!

PICT0557 The Caveman bars come in five flavors:

  • Seeds and Seeds
  • Almond and Coconut
  • Coconut and Flax
  • Pecan Oat Raisin
  • Peanut and Sea Salt

These bars are simple, organic, and straightforward. Basically, what they’re called is what you’ll find in them held together by brown rice syrup. These would be great for hikes and long bike rides because the brown rice syrup would give you that quick energy boost while the seeds and nuts would give you some staying power. In general, definitely a great snack!

PICT0558 Matt was very excited as you can tell, he has mainly had the Almond Coconut and pumped about the variety in his hands. Anita was already nibbling through the wrapper to get to her Pecan Oat Raisin!

Seeds and Seeds=This one was my favorite. It was nice and crunchy with a touch of sweetness. Matt felt healthy eating it but wanted some peanuts, I explained to him they would then have to change the name :p

Peanut and Sea Salt-Matt really liked this one! He said it was like a healthy payday and inhaled it so fast neither of us even got a bite! “The peanuts have a very fresh flavor, I could eat about twenty more!”

Cinnamon Pecan-This was a very festive bar, remnants of fall, great cinnamon flavor and would go good with a latte. To me it was like a really good bowl of oatmeal in a bar form, and nothing like that quaker oatmeal to go bar stuff. This would be my top choice if I wanted a sweet one!

Almond Coconut=Sweet, toasty, with a prominent honey flavor. This is Matt’s standby bar. I personally found both the coconut bars very sweet, and one needs to really like coconut.

Coconut and Flax-Coconut is very strong in this one, though the flax adds a nice crunch. It could make a sweet dessert or nice crumble topping for oatmeal :p

PICT0559

This is a close-up of the coconut and flax bar with Matt inhaling some of the others. If he doesn’t have a caveman beard by the end of the day I’ll be amazed because he ate ALL 4 of the others, Anita hoarded her Pecan Oat, GOOD GIRL! I don’t know how he did it, those things fill me up fast!

EDMONDS FUN FACT:

So downtown Edmonds, WA is pretty quaint and has this fountain in the middle of it that creates a roundabout in the middle of Main Street. In high school, we used to go over there in the middle of the night and pour Mr. Bubbles into the fountain, thus creating huge bubbles to form and blow all over the street and roundabout. It was somewhat magical and very pretty, then again, quite chaotic. We just found it hilarious being the hoodlums that we were. I can own up to this now that I’m a completely different coast 🙂

White Bean and Kale Soup:

I decided it was a soup night since it was so rainy. I’ve also recently discovered I really like chewy kale when it’s heated just a bit so it’s till chewy. I like soups because you can use up a lot of veggies, be fairly creative with them, use them in different way with leftovers, and freeze half to bust out in a few weeks!

PICT0560

  • 4 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • pkg baby bella mushrooms
  • chopped red onion
  • 1 can great northern beans
  • about 5c chopped kale or as green as you want it!
  • 1c white wine
  • 2c vegetable broth, you can add more, up to 4
  • seasonings of choice: i used garlic, paprika, thyme, sea salt, dash of italian blend
  • dash of lemon juice*
  • dash of apple cider vinegar *
  • small dollop EVOO (enough to saute veggies with)

Put a dash of the EVOO in a large pot. Add garlic, onion, mushrooms, and tomatoes. Saute for a few mins. Add wine and other seasonings. Let simmer for 1-2mins. Add vegetable brother, and all other ingredients. Bring to a boil and simmer until kale is tender.

*I added apple cider vinegar and lemon juice because it helps with digestion. You can omit these and will not really lose any flavor of the recipe.

On the side I had some Dave’s Killer Bread with a piece of melted almond cheese on top, proof it does melt!

 PICT0562

The soup was pretty tasty, I’ve never used that much wine in anything but it added a nice flavor. It will be good to add quinoa in later this week and play around with the leftovers too! The bread was awesome! I’m nearing the end of my loaf so I’ll have to hunt down my drug bread dealer aka my sister soon!

What sort of high school pranks did you play?

“God has a great race for you to run!”-Max Lucado

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 5:29 pm

    WHOA WHOA WHOAAAAAAAAAAAAAA….you went to Edmonds Woodway hs?! I have so many friends from there!!!!

    • Faith permalink*
      September 2, 2009 6:06 pm

      haha, that’s so crazy!! i actually went to a rival, but we competed against them!! do u know ppl through skating from there? there was a rink close by…

  2. September 12, 2009 9:33 pm

    I have not tried the Caveman bars, but I am excited about them after reading this interview. I didn’t know you worked at Caribou. So jealous – we don’t have those in Nashville, and I love their decaf!

    Favorite hiigh-school prank? I’m ashamed to say it involved a lot of toilet paper.

Leave a Reply

