Skip to content

Chef Tasting at the Farmers Market!

September 20, 2009

I have been really homesick for Seattle lately. One of my favorite things to go to on Saturdays was the cook-off they would have at the local University farmers market. Local “top chefs” would come, shop the market, and then right there, cook up one or two dishes. It was fun to watch, learn, and of course, taste!

I read that some local chefs were going to do something similar at the Carroboro farmers market down here in NC. I dragged my friend out of bed and took her to one of her first markets! I was a bit disappointed to find that they didn’t do the live cook-off, but was happily satisfied when I got to taste 7 exquisite dishes all made with ingredients that were surrounding me!

PICT0598

The line was clear out into the square, but luckily we had gotten there early. We squeezed right in and got to watch this guy frying his fresh okra in cornmeal which was perfect!

PICT0601  Most of the dishes were savory, but these warm biscuits with a sweet and cinnamon apple compote hit the spot. I wanted to take about three more :p

PICT0602 These beans were my favorite. The sample served was actually just the beans, the plate was for looks :p They were done by a local Carrboro deli, Neal’s Deli.

PICT0604

Slow Roasted Broad Beans by Matt and Sheila Neal

  • 5lb broad beans, rinsed, trimmed and cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1c garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 4c onion
  • 3 med sized tomatoes grated
  • 1T granulated sugar
  • 1tsp pepper
  • 1/2tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2T kosher salt
  • 6 bay leaves
  • 2 cups water
  • 1C EVOO

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients in roasting pan. Cover beans with parchment paper. Then cover the pan with a tight fitting lid or foil. Cook for 2 hrs, stirring every half hr. Serve hot or at room temp. Best served next day.

PICT0600

This was some fancy mac n’ cheese thing…the mushrooms were good but I  wasn’t all the impressed.

PICT0603

Now this was also quite tasty, however, I believe it unfortunately confirmed my allergy to mushrooms. This was Market Moussaka with Local Goat. Chef Ricky Moore from local Glasshalfull, which I have heard praises of was the brains behind this, as well as those tasty cinnamon biscuits, and I think I just may have to venture to his restaurant  This recipe is really long, but I do have it, so if you want to cook yourself up some goat and eggplant, let me know 🙂

I came home with some fresh rainbow butter beans to add to some of my dishes for the week which I hounded out after tasting the dish by Neal’s Deli! I’ve cooked half of them up tonight and put the other half in the freezer. My friend got some local zucchini, a pecan pie which she loved, and did an exposure exercise of eating samples because she freaks out about germs 🙂 YEAH FOR COURAGE!!

“The choice is up to you. It can either be “Good morning, God!” or “Good God-morning!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

