Skip to content

Drunken Pumpkin Chili

October 26, 2009

Whenever I present the idea of pumpkin and chili, most people are like…ummm…especially here in the south where they like their chili straight up and spicy! However, I discovered this a few years back, fell in love with it, and have always found it making it for friends and neighbors when trouble falls upon them, such is the case today.

After work I set off to find the ingredients that were budget friendly. This found me in the meat aisle asking other customers what a good price for hamburger was and if I could find a better deal elsewhere since I never buy meat. People are very helpful, I found 2lbs for $4.97! Sorry Bessie!

cow

Then it was off to get some of the important secret ingredients such as the canned pumpkin and my impromptu pumpkin ale which was an experiment for this pot! Good ol’ Trader Joes helped me out and I was carded for probably the third time in my life as I don’t use or drink alcohol other than for cooking 🙂

PICT0621

I simmered the chopped onion, garlic, green pepper, and hamburger in all of the ale. At first I thought this might be a mistake since it was rather soupy and my pot was already almost full, but eh, we’d see what would happen.

PICT0622

Then I just dumped everything else in, diced tomatoes with the juice, two cans of kidney beans, pumpkin pie spice, cumin, dash of sea salt, and of course the pumpkin puree! (I also decided to add another can of black beans to thicken it up!)

PICT0623

Num! If you like it spicy, definitely add some chile powder. Then, in the nice fall weather, I let it simmer to let all the flavor meld!

PICT0624

Yup, and some fresh baked cornbread, because what is chili without cornbread? Sorry for the hole in the middle, but when baking for others one must check to see if its done!

PICT0625

And tada!  A delicious bowl of steaming drunken pumpkin chili, with hopefully all the ETOH cooked off 🙂 Yeah, that’s a butternut squash in the background, it was the most festive gourd I had around. This is the first year I have yet to get to a corn maize or pumpkin farm yet and I have five days left!!! At least I got my chili in, now it’s time to go deliver!

DRUNKEN PUMPKIN CHILI RECIPE:

  • 2lbs hamburger
  • 1 onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • 28oz can diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 1 bottle pumpkin ale
  • 3 cans beans
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 1/4c sugar
  • 1T pumpkin pie spice
  • garlic, salt, cumin, chili powder to taste

Brown meat, drain. Brown diced veggies with garlic then mix with meat. Mix together ever

Technorati Tags: ,,

ything else and let simmer for at least 1.5hrs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dara permalink
    October 27, 2009 10:01 am

    look so yummy! 🙂

    a tip! The flash on your camera can help to make photos less blurry.. or if you are close-up.. using the Macro function can focus them even better! (its the little flower symbol). not sure if you know that, but i figured i’d let you know anyway. 🙂

  2. November 28, 2009 2:34 pm

    At first thought it sounds a little strange but it looks delicious. Maybe I’ll suggest that to my dad – the chili maker. I would try it but I don’t cook a lot of things that take the extra hours. Too bad cause there’s a lot of good stuff out there.

  3. December 6, 2009 10:19 pm

    I just seen your poem on HEAB’s blog! Cute! I did a Xmas poem on my blog a couple of posts ago for foodies haha 🙂 Fun times. Check it out if you like – I love new readers and new sites. Add me to your Roll if you want/have one!

Leave a Reply

