Skip to content

Harvest Soup:On a Budget

December 20, 2009

So I decided it was time to check in with my fellow bloggers, I’ve been following you all! Some special notes:

  • Congrats to Ghost World on her marathon!
  • It is not my fault if HEAB and Carrots ‘n Cake get coal in their stockings…I still haven’t one a giveaway :p *hugs*
  • Way to go Broccoli Hut on movin’ on in the love life!
  • To all the NC bloggers, super bummed I couldn’t go to the last meet up, but hope to meet all of you soon!

Ok, on to the soup. Things have been tight around here lately, and one day while waiting for a friend to come over I was staring at my counter top, looking at sweet potatoes starting to grow legs and started throwing random stuff into a large stock pot, thus harvest soup was born. The first edition is also in honor of HEAB because I used a kombocha squash!

PICT0638

The soup is very versatile, you can mix up the spices to your liking, as well as switch out the beans. For example, you could put in a dash of curry and cumin and use chickpeas for an indian flare. You can also switch up the squash. I’ve tried butternut, kombocha, and acorn, steamed and roasted, and so far I think roasted butternut is my favorite.(Though I have to say the roasted kombocha with chickpea combo was pretty killer too!)

So below is my base recipe, but be daring, it’s pretty hard to mess up!

  • big ol dollop ol’ bacon grizzle (if you are vegetarian, use coconut oil!)
  • bag of frozen mirepoix mix, or mince 1c of celery and onion
  • big ol’ dollop of veggie or chicken bouillon
  • good dose of minced garlic ‘cause it does a body good!
  • seasonings to taste but i would say it’s 1tsp sage, 1.5tsp thyme, heaping 3/4tsp cinnamon or pump pie spice, good dash of sweetner of choice
  • good dose of white wine cooking vinegar or good ol’ white wine! (1/4-1/3c)
  • 2 large sweet potatoes or yams cut into chunks
  • chosen squash-roast or steam
  • 2 apples diced-peel if you don’t want the peel in your soup
  • start with 4c water, you can always add more for desired consistency
  • 1.5can beans,i like to use 1 can great northern and 1/2can black beans

PICT0640

Boil everything together in a VERY LARGE POT (i need a bigger one….) once the taters and apples soften you can take a mixer or immersion blender to it and make into orange mush. make into whatever texture you want. If you have a crockpot, you can even do it in that! When you serve it, sprinkle a little blue cheese, gorgonzola or dollop of sour cream or greek yogurt! Other ideas might be pommegranate ariels or some nuts!  It may look like baby puke but it is super delicious and good for you all alround, easy on the check book and will easily feed a crowd!!

 

PICT0639

I’m off to cozy up by my fireplace with a few good books! Have a great holiday week! Maybe Santa will bring me a computer so I can blog more!

Technorati Tags: ,,
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 8:44 pm

    So nice to see you posting again! 🙂

  2. December 22, 2009 7:44 pm

    Mmm, a warm fire and a big bowl of squash soup. Sounds heavenly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

