Skip to content

New Endeavor: My Happiness Project

June 25, 2010

My technology karma has not turned towards to the light as of late, but I miss contributing to the blog world so in order to maintain my blog, I am embarking on My Happiness Project. The computer a dear friend recently handed down to me completely bonked out after only 3 weeks and needs a $150 new power supply, phooey. I know 3/4 of the world is in love with apple right now, but this girl is not.

I haven’t shared a lot of personal things on this blog, so the project in itself will challenge me in this. I also need to buck up and make some changes in my life, and what better time to do it than NOW! (yeah, the social deviant I am never goes with the flow and the other January 1st resolution type things, i like to put things off until oh…july 1st??)

Sarah, from The Shu Box, led me to Gloria Rubin’s The Happiness Project, and I have been reading it slowly over the past month and been quite inspired. It is not earth shattering new information, but it is very practical, and in that, it unfolds what can appear quite daunting, and actually make all that seems so complicated actually doable. I strongly encourage others to pick up this book.

She describes the Happiness manifesto as the following:

A HAPPINESS MANIFESTO

  • To be happy, you need to consider feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.
  • One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy; One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.
  • The days are long, but the years are short.
  • You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy.
  • Your body matters.
  • Happiness is other people. Think about yourself so you can forget yourself.
  • “It is easy to be heavy: hard to be light.”—G. K. Chesterton
  • What’s fun for other people may not be fun for you, and vice versa.
  • Best is good, better is best.
  • Outer order contributes to inner calm.
  • Happiness comes not from having more, not from having less, but from wanting what you have.
  • You can choose what you do, but you can’t choose what you like to do.
  • “There is no duty we so much underrate as the duty of being happy.” —Robert Louis Stevenson
  • You manage what you measure.

source

Before starting the project, one is to determine their 12 personal commantdments, secrets of adulthood, and list of areas they would like to focus working on throughout their project. Rubin chose twelve, one to work on for each month of the year. So I sat down this morning and started making lists…I love lists, especially when they are to do lists and I can cross things off! Despite always wanting to feel completely original, I let myself be led by many of Rubin’s ideas, and inline with the project, let myself be okay with that!

So why am I doing this? I have struggled with a lot of things over the past decade, and even things stemming from my adolescent, but hey, who hasn’t? I had this whole set of plans for life that got turned around during college when I became ill both physically and when I started struggling a great deal with mental illness. I have had some good periods, but I have also hit some major lows. I’m sure that if people from my high school and university years heard some of what I have gone through since then, they would be shocked, as I was ‘supposed’ to be a success story. Well world, I’m not, according to what standard American society would call a “success story…” yet, maybe it has been greatly delayed. I’m not that great doctor or scholar I was set up to be by the age of twenty five. However, I am Faith, and I’m 29, and I’m going to start truly living my life and figuring out who I am. And that my friends, is my first commandment.

If you have any interest in joining me on this journey, let me know! If you got this far, kudos! My full list of areas of focus, commandments, and secrets of adulthood will be up in my next post.

In the meantime, I have to say this combination is making me very happy despite the heat:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

