Skip to content

Snow Day Split Pea Soup

February 25, 2011

Well, I guess the groundhog was wrong. Spokane and northern Idaho hit a record low in temperature and snow fall in a late February storm this week.  We got at least a good eight inches of white fluff and the below zero temperatures made the roads an icy mess. That’s okay for me though, I was lucky to be out at my parents, a warm house, cable tv, and a great kitchen calling my name to try out some recipes.  However, my poor ol’ step-dad had to take care of the keeping the driveway clear-no, he’s not a scary monster, but I don’t think I’d mess with him while he’s doing this:

I have a mysterious blood disorder that makes it hard for me to absorb iron so I went in search of a good spit pea soup recipe and found one courtesy of the Fatfree Vegan Kitchen.  I cut the recipe in half, because it was just going to be me eating it and taking home, and other than not measure much, I actually followed the recipe!

It started with a basic mirepoix:

Then I dumped everything into a pot and let it simmer while my mom and I braved the roads to grab a few things at the store, so it simmered for a good two hours.

When I got home I dumped the mixture into my blender and pureed it for less than thirty seconds and it resulted in a thick, creamy, smoky, split pea soup with a great kick. The flavor was awesome and I liked the texture, though my mom said the peas could have used a little more time. Patience is not my virtue, so I guess I like my peas al dente 🙂

Sorry for the Tupperware presentation, but this soup is going to travel. Perfect and hearty for a cold winter’s day!  I’m sure my iron stores were quite happy as well!

Thick and Hearty Split Pea Soup-adapted from FatFree Vegan Kitchen

  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 2 minced cloves of garlic
  • 1 diced carrot
  • 1 diced rib of celery
  • 1/2 diced sweet potato
  • Dash of apple cider vinegar
  • Dash of lemon juice
  • Pinch of splenda
  • 1c dried split peas
  • 3c water, +1tsp vegetable bouillon, you may need to add a little more H20 when you blend it
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Dash celery seed
  • 1t dried basil
  • 1t dried thyme
  • 1t liquid smoke
  • Dash of garlic salt

Lightly spray bottom of a big pot/dutch oven with pam/canola oil, whatever you have. Saute the onions, then add garlic, carrots, celery, lemon juice, vinegar, splenda, and let cook for a few more minutes.

Add the peas, water and bouillon to the pot. Add the diced sweet potato, and seasonings. Bring to a boil for five minutes, then let simmer on very low heat for two hours. When peas and potato are soft, puree to desired consistency with blender or immersion blender. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

