Skip to content

My Ironbakebranathon-Bran Muffins

February 26, 2011

As I mentioned before, I’m constantly on the lookout for foods and recipes with a good iron and fiber content due to some medical issues. I’m also fairly picky, in the way that I’m challenged mentally by recipes with AP flour, white sugar, etc…yeah, I already know I’m on the path to insanity. I have also learned that I’m a better cook than baker because I don’t like to measure or follow recipes, however, in this journey of life, I’m taking steps of challenge and change.

I have always loved muffins, but most have gotten a bad rap because they are usually laden with butter, sugar, and other things that shoot your blood sugar through the roof and leave you hungry a half hour later. Even bran muffins you often see at coffee shops are hidden “healthy” junk foods. Thus, still being snowed in, I went in search of another bran muffin recipe to try and Farmgirl Susan came to my rescue.

I am proud to say I pretty much followed the recipe to a “t.” I only switched out the canola oil for a very ripe banana, and did the dump everything in a bowl method, then mix. I made six of the muffins, straight up bran muffins, and six of the muffins I put some locally made black raspberry jam in the middle.

The result was delicious! They are definitely wholegrain bran muffins-I  mean with two cups of wheat bran you really can’t disguise that. I love that kind of texture though, and the top of the muffin had a great crunch. My mom liked them, giving them her usual, “well, they are definitely healthy” review, but I think they taste good and I felt good about all the ingredients and know that they will nourish my body well.  Plus, the 1/3c of molasses was a great way of flavoring it and giving it a good dose of iron!

So, if you’re looking for a good, healthy, bran muffin recipe, without having to buy one of those cereals, I definitely suggest this one. In fact, this recipe is quite cost effective overall. You can make variations of it as well, turn it into a morning glory muffin, add fruit, etc. I enjoyed it along side a nice cup of decaf hazelnut coffee and a good book!

Farmgirl Susan’s 100% Whole Grain Basic Bran Muffin Recipe

  • 2c wheat bran
  • 1c oat bran
  • 1c whole wheat flour
  • 2t baking soda
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/2t salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 c milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 2/3c yogurt (I used plain yogurt)
  • 1-2 very ripe bananas (or 1/3c canola oil)
  • 1/3c molasses
  • 1/3c honey
  • 1t vanilla

Preheat oven to 375. Grease a standard muffin pan, or use paper liners. I used two different color liners so I would know which ones had jam in the middle.

Dump everything in a bowl and mix it all together (check her site out for the appropriate baker’s way of doing things). Generously fill the muffin cups with batter. For the ones with jam, I filled the cup half full, placed a dollop of jam, then filled the rest of the cup to the top with batter.

Bake for 20-25 minutes and let cool in pan for ten-I took them out after five, but mine were in papers. Let them continue to cool on a wire rack.  You can freeze some for later, or store them in an airtight container for a few days if they last that long!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sasha permalink
    February 28, 2011 3:54 am

    Sounds delicious! I wonder if you could switch out the whole wheat flour for spelt flour?

    • Faith permalink*
      February 28, 2011 8:28 am

      im sure you could thought i dont know what would happen with texture and need to increase or decrease liquids. you should check with ashley, from edible perspective, she is really good with baking with all sorts of different flours and such! good luck and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

