Skip to content

Snow Burps and New Perspectives

February 28, 2011

My “winter vactaion” at the parents is over and it’s back to reality. If I continue to look at the positives, I’m at least at walking again. Spokane did get pretty hard with snow and some of the “snow burms,” (I thought the news was calling them “snow burps” for the first few months I lived here, thus I continue to call them that, were up past my knees when Iwas out walking. It was very refreshing to walk in the snow, especially after sittting on my bum for a week!

Here is an example of a snow burm (burp):

Unlike most people, I’m glad it’s monday. The busses are all back on schedule, i have a few appointments which I’m not all that excited about but it is something to do, and yesterday I got locked out of my  room for over six hours which definitely dampened the day.

I’m sure there will be Oscar talk amidst all the blogs and water coolers today, not for me, not really my thing.

I’ve noticed a lot of people will bike to the store for exercise  or challenge themselves to “eat in.” Have you ever looked at it from the perspective of not having the choice? For example, you’re looking for a place to live, but one of the deciding factors is, “can I walk home with my groceries from here?” “Where is the closest bus stop and where does it go?” Restaurants? sure those look nice, but for $6 i could get this, this, and this, at the store.

After living in a few different states, and seeing what they have as far as food bank resources and other such, it is amazing at the contrast. In North Carolina, a single person gets one bag of food for the entire month, and they only take six people a day. The Seattle area is actually rich with food banks that not only provide staples but well coveted fresh produce as well. I’m not entirely sure about Spokane yet because I have been fortunate enough to not have to use too many resources, but when helping out a friend, i think it’s defintely a few tiers up from NC as well.

I don’t know where I was really going with this soapbox, other than hoping to de-stigmatize one area of people who are on food stamps and use food banks. Yes, there are people out there abusing the system, but for the most part, the way the system is developed makes it extremely hard to get off. For example, if a person were to go out and get a full-tim job, they immediately lose all benefits before they even have a chance to get on their feet. Also, along the lines of Amercia’s obesity problem, people often donate cheap, non-pershable, fat-ridden, sugar coated foods, that are then passed on to this population. Overweight people can be malnourished too! I used to covet any fresh item I could get.

So, if you have gotten this far, and in summary:

  • try to look at things from a different perspective and don’t make group assumptions
  • check with your local food bank about needs, and see if there is any way you could perhaps bring in fresh produce, or when putting in dry goods, try to choose healthier options
  • other unique ways of helping out might be sponsoring someone with one of those organic produce delivery boxes
  • this isn’t always safe, but if you see someone looking pretty decent walking in a huge storm with heavy grocery bags, it wouldn’t hurt to see if they need a lift, guesses are it’s pretty close by-the news seems to make everyone out to be a killer :p
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

