Skip to content

The Hunchback of Notre Bread

March 12, 2011

If you have been following (thank you to my small group of faithfuls) you will know that yeast and I have been in a bit of a war/challenge.  Well, I was once again lucky enough to have access to my mom’s kitchen, watching over the house while they were out-which meant I could make a second attempt at bread without creating too much chaos. What I have learned so far:

1) bread is incredbily messy to make

2) no matter what you do, flour flies everywhere and you should really not where black

3) do not make bread while you clean freak but very dear mother is at home unless you are able to clean up at lightening speed

So this week I found a few good recipes and ended up with Wholesome Flax Bread contributed to the Bob’s Red Mill site by Anne McIntosh.  I cut the recipe in half and had to make a few changes due to what I had on hand and it came out pretty good, but I think I could have actually made two loaves out of the dough I created once I saw the beast of bread that came out of the oven.


 

The bread is definitely wholesome. The top crust is very hard-I would do some sort of egg wash next time. Once again I cooked it with a pan of water underneath, and the loaf came out very moist and has stayed that way. The nutritional information is pretty good-all the ingredients are straight-forward wholesome foods.  I have one more yeast dough recipe I want to try, then I’m waving the white flag of surrender until I get a bread machine 🙂

Wholesome Flax Bread (adapted by the recipe on Bob’s Red Mill Site)

  • 2.5c warm water
  • 1T honey
  • 1T molasses
  • 1 1/4 T instant yeast
  • 1c AP flour
  • 1c coconut flour
  • 1/2c+1/8c flaxseed meal
  • 1/4c VEGA wholefood optimizer
  • 1/2c rolled oats
  • 1t salt
  • ~4c whole wheat flour

Mix together the water, honey, molasses and yeast. Let stand 3 to 4 minutes. In a separate bowl, mix the oatmeal, unbleached flour, coconut flour,  flaxseed meal, VEGA powder, and salt. Add these dry ingredients to the yeast mixture and mix until well blended. Beat for 5 minutes by hand, then mix in whole wheat flour until dough is quite stiff. Knead. Let rise for 15 minutes, then punch down and let rise 15 minutes again.

Punch down and shape into loaves or rolls. (Special Note: If using a bread-kneading machine, add whole wheat flour and mix on high speed for 5 minutes.) Let the bread rise until double in volume. Bake loaves at 350° for 40 to 45 minutes; rolls at 375° for 20 to 25 minutes.

 


 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

