Skip to content

A few gratitude’s….

March 15, 2011

  Chaos. That pretty much sums up about the last eight or so years of my life and how my  mother frequently describes me when things get too much to handle. “When are you going to quite living in so much chaos?” Maybe it’s because I started working in a high paced, endorphined rush emergency room positions at the age of sixteen and continued to do so for about the next six years. I’m one of those odd balls that thrive under pressure…well certain pressure. I’ve been through a lot, put my family through a lot, but despite it all, I’ve met some amazing people on the way, and more importantly are the ones that have stuck by me and continued to support me no matter what. Today, I lift my green monster to them and say thank you-even though those two simple words are not enough.  (Also, there are many more, so if you are not here don’t feel left out, I most likely didn’t have a picture and also couldn’t create an epic post :p) So to those un-pictured, I lift my fresh jar of juice in gratitude 🙂

parents american gothic                  american gothic

My parents…I have definitely put them through the ringer. There are definitely no words to express my gratitude towards all they have done. We took this when they moved to rural Idaho as a joke…kind of creepy, eh? It was our modern day version of the American Idaho Retiring Gothic. This is more along the lines:

airport Saying goodbye at the airport before I left for North Carolina for two years…it was bittersweet.

nc gangThis is only part of my wonderful NC buds! I met some of the nicest people down there, probably the highlights. People from where I worked literally became my family. I miss them so much, it was the first time in a long time I could say I had true friends! All of them are long gone from the coffee shop (onto bigger and better things!) and a shout out to my wonderful customers as well.

sam and b waterfallSamantha is like a young twenty year old with the wise mind of a parenting adult. This girl is amazing. Not only is she extremely kind and loyal, but she is responsible and literally follows through with everything she does. I have so much to thank her for. She has definite potential for a prosperous future! I miss you Sam!!

melissa and b xmasMelissa is another long standing friend. We were long time roomies for a few years, I stood in her wedding, she has always been an amazing friend. She really stuck by me through a lot as well and I hope we can reconnect amidst our conflicting schedules now that we are at least back in the same state. Odd fact: we used to have pet rats we let run around our apartment 🙂 Don’t judge, they were awesome!

terry adn meThis is my Aunt Terry-she is wise, strong, perseverant, loyal, and giving amidst many other fine qualities. She really supported my mom through a lot, and I can’t express how much she has helped me since being back. She knows just how to talk to me, change my thoughts around, offer her simple everyday wisdom from resumes and job searches to also dealing with my”chaos.” She loves scrabble and plays every Sunday and a cute little coffee shop and her point values are off the charts. I am so glad she is back in my life to have a growing relationship with her again!

There are so many others-so don’t feel left out. I believe I read you are supposed to keep posts fairly short and I think I’ve broken it in about the last 3-4…oh well, rules are meant to be broken right? (ah, the social deviant comes out!)

I have learned some important lessons these past two weeks:

oregon sunsetEnjoy the simple things.

 

Sometimes you have to let go of the past, and jump into the present with a willingness to change, persevere, have faith, and pursue your hopes and dreams with a decided heart. Each day and challenge is an opportunity to learn.  

jump off tubb hill

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 4:48 am

    Hi Faith,

    “Sometimes you have to let go of the past, and jump into the present with a willingness to change, persevere, have faith, and pursue your hopes and dreams with a decided heart. Each day and challenge is an opportunity to learn. ”

    Yea, if you don’t leave your past, you will pass away with it.

    • Faith permalink*
      May 3, 2011 5:11 pm

      Very wise and good affirmations, thanks!

Leave a Reply

