Skip to content

The Chocolate Whey to Go: Product Reviews

March 23, 2011

You all know my smoothie obsession, however, I’m happy to say I’m moving into toddler stage and getting to more solid foods 🙂 I just love my smoothies though, great replacement for those McDonald milkshakes that weren’t so good in the past too. (Have you noticed they changed them anyway? Poo on that.) Sorry, I digress.

Anyway, my beloved company VEGA sent me a packet of their Shake and Go Choc-a-Lot to try. As you know, I’m a huge fan of VEGA products, you just can’t beat their nutrition profile. Some of their products I haven’t found as tasty as I hoped for, but this one left was AWESOME! I mixed it up with some frozen bananas, almond milk, ice, and it created a very chocolaty shake with almost a hint of vanilla sweetness. This is certainly going down on my “when i win a million dollars list…” It is worth every penny!

 

Some of the benefits:

  • Two servings of veggies
    2500 mg Omega-3-6-9
    1 g complete protein
    Only 100 calories
    1 billion probiotics cultures
  • 40% iron-which is definitely what I need!
  • 12g protein
  • low in sugar and sodium!
  • 5g fiber
  • completely vegan, no gluten, soy, or whey!

 

The other new chocolate protein powder I tried was Spiru-tein’s Whey chocolate flavor. I normally haven’t done Spiru-tein in the past because I recall trying it once and not liking the flavor, and also I now have to stay away from soy. The positive aspect of Spiru-tein

is it has a much smaller price tag with the addition of some extra healthy ingredient benefits that you don’t usually find in whey powders like Jay Robb and such.  I mixed it with a similar combo, almond milk, yogurt, bananas, bit of ice, dash of sugar free chocolate pudding, and the result was the best consistency-it was like eating a huge bowl of of lightly set chocolate pudding, yet it was full of nutrients, protein, and ingredients I could pronounce vs. a Jello snack pack. It was actually a treat!

Benefits of Spiru-Tein Whey spirutein whey

  • 14g protein
  • extra vitamins and minerals most other whey powders don’t have
  • contains bee pollen, spirulina, chlorophyll, and other good stuff
  • kinder to the pocket book and easier to find

 

 

 

Those are my chocolate adventures of the week. It’s the end of the month, budget is tight, and I’m just praying I have enough spinach to make my green monsters to get me through 🙂 I’ve been packing and crafting this week, if I finally create something decent maybe I’ll get it up here!

Do you use protein powders? If so, what are your favorites? Do you use them as meal replacements, snacks, etc?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

