Skip to content

Old, New, and a Review!

March 26, 2011

Writing from across the border, yup, good ol’ potato Idaho. One would think ‘taters would be cheaper in a state known for the spud, but when I went shopping for my mother yesterday, two baking potatoes cost more than a 5lb bag…nothing makes sense these days. (Plus the 5lb bag was for those little taters that just don’t make a good baked potato). Anyway, enough spud talk.

monster ingredients Just because it’s a staple to my diet, hasn’t made an appearance in a long time (even though I might consume 2-3 a day) the Green Monster has never left. He has been my loyal, nutritional friend,  even through the freezing winter days when I would have to drink it under ten blankets.

green monster

My current comb0:

2 cups almond milk of choice                          1-2c fresh spinach

1/2 frozen very ripe banana

blob of plain yogurt

1/3c frozen blueberries

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

small sprinkle of  sf vanilla  pudding (secret ingredient)

I love how it gets all thick and foamy, mmmm delicious! Although I can’t imagine how even more delicous it would be with a Vita Mix…sigh…a girl can dream 🙂 Served in a mason jar of course, perfect for travel, easy clean up, and one part of the south I took home with me 🙂

Last night I finally tried making Ashley’s Buckwheat Bake I have been drooling over for quite some time, just like half of her recipes. I can’t wait to get my own kitchen where I can actually cook again!! I have a good portion of her recipes bookmarked, so if you haven’t check out her site, definitely head on over to An Edible Perspective, she is a genius!

buckwheat bakeAs you can tell I don’t have her photography skills or the recipe quite down to it’s perfection yet, but the bake was pretty good, a lot like a very healthy banana bread. I think I’m going to keep playing around with it.

Practically Exactly Ashley’s French Toast Buckwheat Bake-to do the French toast part follow the link)

  • 1/3c buckwheat flour
  • 1T chia seeds [or sub ground flax meal]
  • 2T almond milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana [~1/4-1/3c]
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1.5t vanilla extract
  • 1/4t baking powder
  1. Preheat your oven to 350*
  2. Grease a 4-5” oven safe bowl, really well. [I use a small soup crock]
  3. In a bowl, mash the banana until wet.
  4. Whisk in eggs, almond milk, and vanilla.
  5. Mix in buckwheat flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and chia seeds.
  6. Pour into greased bowl and bake for 30min.  It will be cracked and brown on top.  The toothpick test method will work here.  Do not overcook!

And last but certainly not least, since we are on the topic of breakfast like items, my mom and I shared my last VEGA sample of the Bodacious Berry Shake and Go Smoothie.  We mixed it with 1c milk, a few chunks frozen banana and a few frozen blueberries. We both liked it a lot, my mom is definitely a berry girl, and it held her over for hours. She was also very impressed with all the nutrient goodness.

If I were to rate the Shake and Go Smoothie’s by favorite flavors I think it would be:

  1. Choc-a-Lot
  2. very close tie, but Vanilla Almondilla (plus that’s just fun to say)
  3. Bodacious Berry
  4. Mango Tango

Honestly I like them all, it’s just a matter of mood I’m in, and I’m usually more in a chocolate or vanilla mood for me to buy an entire pouch. So really it’s just a matter of taste, you can’t go wrong! Thanks again VEGA for letting me sample and share, though we all know I would have caved eventually and found the stuff-on a personal note, I seriously love their stuff. When I started using more of their whole food optimizer and shake mixes, my blood results improved drastically. And, with the shake and go, you literally can take it anywhere….

Yup, that’s silly ol’ me with a Mango Tango pouch out in the Blue Mountain Range of North Carolina. You can make fun of me, it’s okay 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

