Skip to content

“No true southerner eats instant grits”

February 3, 2010

Being from Seattle, I had never heard of grits except from the movie My Cousin Vinny, then I moved to North Carolina. Grits are everywhere, you can even find those “instant grits” next to your quaker oats in the grocery aisle. Being a foodie, my curiosity got the best of me. Thus, I imparted to make a few true home-cooked grits recipes.

PICT0667

Above was my go at the classic shrimp and cheese grits, and I have to say it was quite tasty! The important thing is to make sure you’re buying the course ground grits at the store, they come in white or yellow. I tried two different kinds, the first was a local cafe’s mix, Crooks Corners Grits, which were white upon opening the package, but once cooked and doused in sharp cheddar, turned a good yellow. I think I would prefer yellow over white, otherwise my taste buds might be wanting cream of wheat 🙂

Cheesy Grits-

  • 1c gits (course ground)
  • 1/2 water, 1/2 milk ratio to grits, about 4c
  • 4T butter
  • cheese of choice, something sharp and full of flavor

Boil grits, water, and milk. Simmer for about 10-15mins. Stir in cheese, butter, and serve!

PICT0657 This was my first attempt at grits and I accidentally bought Bob’s Red Mill Medium Grind. They cam out really good, nice and creamy, but once I tasted the courser texture version, I would go with that. I like how you can change up the seasonings and make it to taste. Bob makes a course grind too, just check your package!

I’ll admit it, I’m not a true southerner. I like my greens minus the ham hock, and grits are okay, but I think I’ll stick to my oats for breakfast Vinny!

PICT0660

Have you ever had grits? What’s your favorite way to make them? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 8:29 pm

    We don’t eat grits in Australia, though some friends in Minnesota did send us some in a shoe-box swap we did some time ago. They asked if there was something in particular that we really wanted to try, and …grits was it.

    We had read so many stories where the people ate grits, and just couldn’t imagine what they were 🙂

    They were quite nice with ice-cream and maple syrup, but, no doubt, not so authentic 🙂

Leave a Reply

