Skip to content

Not around cause I’m meeting some heroes!

September 22, 2009

First I really need to apologize for my lack in blogging these past few weeks. A lot of craziness is going on in my life, from health, stress, emotions, work, everything just decides to hit all at once.

Some of you may know I’ve been getting some treatment done at the new cancer hospital that has finally opened up at UNC. It is beautiful, and better yet the same employees are still there. These employees remember your name, your interests, and always take the time to sit and visit with you. They have hearts of gold and are filled with compassion.

PICT0594 This is one of my favorite nurses I have met during my time here, Jerome. He always knows what to say, “good day?” “bad day” and we go from there. We share funny stories, he make sure you have a warm blanket, but he wants to know YOU, not just what you’re there for.

PICT0595

I brought all the nursing staff some crazy popcorn, cause when you get stressed you can get the munchies :p

I have also met some amazing patients here. These people are fighting for their lives. I watched a woman graduate from chemo, as the staff all came out with their clappers and a certificate for her. They also didn’t forget another patients 50’th bday complete with candles and cupcakes. I hope he sees 51, i truly do. These people are brave, they take each day as it comes and on the good days, try to live it to its fullest.

There is so much I want to express, but for now I have to stop here, time for my own tubes to come out!

CARPE DIEM!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 2:51 pm

    yummy popcorn! 🙂

    you should make your photos larger. when adding them to your blog, choose FULL SIZE instead of large. 🙂 i cant see them that well. i guess i could click them as well. im lazy i guess! haha. have a good day!

  2. October 22, 2009 5:35 am

    oh my gosh – i hope you are feeling better and that treatment is going well! i totally understand if you’re too sick, but if not i am organizing a local blogger meetup in durham on november 19th at six plates wine bar! if you send me an email with your email i can send you the evite!

    i hope you have a wonderful day today!

Leave a Reply

