Skip to content

Pizza! Pizza!

March 14, 2011

You may have to have been born post 1980, and live in a certain part of the US to understand the Little Ceasar logo and their classis “pizza! pizza” chant at the end of each commercial, but everytime I see a pizza place or eat pizza it still rings through my mind. I don’t think I’ve even had Little Ceasar’s since I was about, oh, nine, I remember it being delicious, but I think any pizza is delicious to a nine year old-you know, before I matured to my refined palate (uh-huh…..) 🙂

Anyway, although I said I waved the white flag with yeast, I had one more package of it staring me down on the counter yesterday and recalled the killer calzones my parents and I made on the grill a few summers ago. Ironically, Jenna, had just posted her pizza dough recipe, and VOILA! that had been the one I had used with a few tweaks of course! Thus, yeast and I had our last battle.

Jenna from ELR’s Pizza Dough (my changes noted)

  • 2 cups all purpose flour——–>2c whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour——–>1c ww flour+1/2c AP flour
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/3 cup warm water
  • 1 packet yeast
  • 1.5 tsp sea salt

In a mixing bowl, combine the warm water and yeast.

Stir in the salt and flour and mix on medium high speed on your KitchenAid for 5 minutes. While the mixer is going, drizzle in the olive oil.

(I had to knead mine more by hand without the mixer, perhaps because of all the whole wheat dough. I also got my hands wet which seemed to help the dough come together.)

When the dough is soft and elastic, take out of the bowl, rub with olive oil and then place back in the bowl, cover with a dish towel and let rise for one hour.

After the dough has doubled in size, cut in half to make two large pizza doughs or make mini doughs. You could also do what I like to do and freeze the dough in a plastic baggie for another time! When you are ready for your pizza, roll out the dough, cover with your toppings and bake at 425 for 10-15 minutes.

**You could also make this dough without an electric mixer…..just knead by hand for about 8 minutes and then follow above steps! I’ve made it by hand many, many times and it always comes out right.

I followed the recipe pretty closely with the exception of using more whole wheat flour than AP flour. I wanted to add some flax, but knew if it looked “birdseed” at all, my step-dad would not eat it. It came together quickly, I rolled it into a ball, set in the bowl, and placed it a chair by the window where the sun was coming in to help it along in the proofing process.  Another bonus? The kitchen, nor I, was not covered in flour-this came together very easily and cleanly.

My mom and I went to run a few errands-Target and Michaels, can’t get better than that! I think we were tired though, we kept walking into each store forgetting why we were there 🙂 Did you know you can print Target coupons online? I ended up getting five packs of my favorite gum for $2! (Major gum chewer here).  Check out Coupon Mom-she is doing some amazing budget stuff!

this will last all of maybe two days, so orbit, feel free to send some my way!

 

We were pretty hungry when we got home.The dough had risen beautifully. My mom made a big pizza for her and my step-dad, I made a small pizza for myself, and we still had some dough to put in the freezer for another medium size pizza maybe?

 

ready to bake!

Oven warmed to 425, we stuck them in and they cooked beautifully, tasted great, and were quite filling! See ya later ceasar and Papa John! This dough was extremely cost effective when I thought about it. We bought the whole wheat flour bulk at 69c/lb, AP flour is cheap (and 1/2c), EVOO may be more expensive but 1T broken down and for the amount this recipe would feed, very economical and tasty. Thanks for bringing back the recipe Jenna!

the parents pizza

 

my pizza

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

